Go Down

Topic: 'How to use Atmel Dataflash New Library That Works!' (Read 7525 times) previous topic - next topic

simplystupid

I have re-written the playground dataflash library so it works. Atmel AT45DB161D seems to work ok, but I'm no expert and haven't tested every permutation.
You can easily add your own 'block erase' etc, just keep clear of the sector protection etc programming codes or you could brick the flash.
Well, I mean I probably would.
There are a few op-codes not yet implemented, eg block erase, which is very quick.
I suggest you copy the ccp source block of code for a similar function to your new one. Only change the relevant op-code , then create a new function name and create a prototype in dataflash.h and use the txt.file to add it as a keyword high-lighted in orange. I find Keywords are very useful, because spelling mistakes get spotted by their 'plain' text colour.
The change to 512 byte pages from default 528 bytes is 'once-only'. Just a reminder if you choose to do that.

simplystupid

I was interrupted by an official at the frontdoor halfway through last posting and forget to tidy up the example.ino file before attaching.

The //comments re:buffer 2 not working are not relevant any longer of course.
Perhaps a moderator can substitute this updated Atmel dataflash library and example on the Arduino Playground?

simplystupid

Since this is the only code in the public domain which will allow arduino to use atmel dataflash with full functionality, I have added a splash line at the top of the cpp and dataflash.h files with the date 2015.

To moderator - the current dataflash library in the arduino playground does not work properly.

There are numerous unresolved posts which would have been easily answered and fixed by those generous individuals who give their time to assist others with their projects. All it would now need is a reference to this updated 2015 version.