[SOLVED] ArduinoISP programming Atmega8515 on breadboard

I'm new to the Arduino and just starting to play around with my Mega 2650r3, but one thing I wanted to try out was the ArduinoISP capability to flash an Atmega8515 for another project I'm working on. I have the Intel-format .hex file I wish to flash and I know the pinout for hooking it up, and I've have tried following the tutorial's I've found, but I have a feeling that I'm missing something in the configuration for flashing on a breadboard (preferably the barebones setup without additional components on the board). I can get as far as uploading ArduinoISP to the Mega and then firing up avrdude and initializing the chip, but when I try to flash the actual .hex, it gives me a protocol error. I'll post any more detailed information that may be necessary, but I'm pretty sure I am missing some basic setup, since most of the tutorials I've found are for programming other chips, so I may be incorrectly configured. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated.

EDIT: For anyone reading this later for reference, I ended up wiring up the entire circuit shown here http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ArduinoToBreadboard using an external crystal, the barebones layout did NOT work. I then had to follow this hack Google Code Archive - Long-term storage for Google Code Project Hosting. to get ArduinoISP to play nice. Also, to clear up a couple of things that were not quite clear to me as a noob searching aimlessly on the internet, this does require a 100nF (.1uF) cap across RESET and GND on the Arduino inserted AFTER the ArduinoISP sketch has been uploaded but BEFORE uploading the .hex to the 8515, and the 22pF caps on the crystal recommended in the above linked guide worked fine even though my project manual indicated the need for 27's.

it gives me a protocol error

• ? -

Sorry, I tried it last night and have since disconnected it. Didn't remember the exact error offhand. I'll hook it back up and post back.