avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

Hello I am totaly new to Arduino, and I was trying to upload the code I have written.

I am not really experienced at this stuff and I had this problem.

avrdude: stk500_disable(): protocol error, expect=0x14, resp=0x51

The code is as follow :

int output[] = {13,12,11,10,9};
int input = 7;
int button;
int n=5;
int pre = LOW;
int state = HIGH;
int z = 0;
int x = 0;
int y =1;

void setup(){
  for(int i=0;i<n;i++)
    pinMode(output[i],OUTPUT);
  pinMode(input,INPUT);
}

void loop(){
  button = digitalRead(input);
  if(button == HIGH && pre == LOW){
    if(state == HIGH){
      state == LOW;
      x = n - 1;
      y = -1;
    }

else
    {
      x = 0;
      y = 1;
        state == HIGH;
    }
  }
  while(1){
        digitalWrite(output[x],HIGH);
        delay(100);
        digitalWrite(output[x],LOW);
        x += y;
        z++;
        if(z == n){
           z = 0;
           break;
        }
  }
  pre = button;
}

Can anyone give me any advise on where I have gone wrong, what I should do to improve it, and if what I am doing can damage my board.

Thank you very much.

These are the picture of set up

This error is what happens when your computer isn't communicating with the Arduino. It has nothing to do with whether your code is right or wrong.

The most common cause of this error (IMO) used to be people choosing the Duemilanove 128 when they had the newer Duemilanove 328. Click on -> and make sure you have the right board chosen, and try again.

You can also check to see if your using the correct COM port ->

Obviously, make sure your USB cable is plugged in, both to the computer and the Arduino.

Download the current drivers.

If it works, great. If it doesn't, post again and let us know which Arduino and what OS you're using.

Good luck!

I have checked the version of Arduino
It says (Arduino Duemilanove) on the front and S 1681 on the back

So I believe it is TMega 168

Well I have tried the other one anyway