Switching 18V

Hi,

Sorry for the total noob question.

I have an electric door release I want to change from its current mechanical switch to something controlled by an Arduino. The switch has 18V8 DC and 0.27A running through it.

How should I control this via the IO port on the Arduino? I'm guessing a relay switch is overkill? Should I be looking at some kind of transistor? pointing me in the right direction would be appreciated :slight_smile:

Thanks.
Tim

You need to drive the relay with a transistor. You can find the driver circuit herehttp://arduino.cc/playground/uploads/Main/relays.pdf

If it is acceptable to common the grounds of the Arduino and the door release power supply, then you don't need a relay, you can use a BJT such as BC327 to switch the current to the door release directly. See Arduino Playground - HomePage.

If you can't common the grounds, then I would still switch the door lock with a BJT instead of a relay, but I would use an opto isolator to drive the BJT.

Before you try any of the suggestions here except a relay you should post a drawing of what you are controlling exactly as it is. Suggestions for a transistor are based on assumptions that might prove to be unworkable. A single relay board can be purchased in many places on the Internet that cater to Arduino. I bought a nice one from Terry Kings store Sunshine for a few dollars.

Doc

The door release is likely to be a very inductive load (electromagnet) - you want to rate the relay contacts significatly higher than 0.27A and/or consider adding a free-wheel diode across the door-release coil to prevent inductive spikes.

Photos of the set-up might provide useful information (how is it powered with 18V for instance?)

If you want to power the Arduino from this same supply that's another thing to consider.

Hi Thanks for the suggestions.