PT2314 audio processor PCB

Hi,

I'm planning to build a RDS FM based radio/alarm clock with multiple audio sources, remote, LCD screen and various "weather sensors".

Most of the parts have been bought/received but I soon discovered that it was hard/impossible to find a premade Arduino friendly audio processor module with multiple inputs and I2C.

Hence I set out to make my own module based on the PTC PT2314 audio processor.

I have no prior PCB designing experience and my electronics knowledge is basic. I have made a PCB with Fritzing and I would really appreciate it if you could help me with a "sanity check" of my design and component selection.

I have opted for 0603 resistors and ceramic capacitors and a couple of 0805 ceramic capacitors.

The design is based on the MOSA MS6714 (PT2314 compatible) application example since the component count is smaller than for the PT2314 example. This is mainly to be able to create an even more compact module but it means that I have left out the input surge protection resistors in the PT2314 example.

I hope the choices I have made does not degrade the audio quality noticeably and is still "safe" enough. The radio/alarm clock is in no way meant to be hi-fi grade with it's tiny 2x3w speakers but it doesn't hurt to make it decent if possible :slight_smile:

I have attached photos of the PCB and the Fritzing file that I hope you can give me feedback on. Notice that I struggle a bit with the Fritzing file, where not all of the nets and connectors are marked as routed in the PCB view (but the PCB in itself should be ok) - I don't understand why, but it could be due to my inexperience with Fritzing/electronics or due to a bug or something in Fritzing (I have experienced a couple but truly appreciate the application).

PT2314 datasheet
MS6714 datasheet

A couple of screen captures from the datasheet:

I have also included a few photos of commercial implementations of the PT2314 for reference:

Some homemade uses of the PT2314: