Can a Arduino board simply be used to program?

This is my first foray into uC. I'm a total noob at digital electronics, but I have several projects that I can't do practically with analog circuits. I'm not even sure if I should be going Arduino. I installed the Arduino IDE from the Ubuntu repositories and I even wrote a simple program. I only know about programming what I remember from my college Java class, but I was able to look at the examples and understand a good bit, which is exciting. But anyway, now I need an Arduino board so I can see if my LED flashing program works (a textbook example of an open-source business model btw). I have nothing that has a serial port, so I had looked at buying a Duemilanove board.

Here's my core issue with buying a Duemilanove board. It seems like the board+chip are designed to be embedded in the user's robot/project/doomsday machine, and the board itself wired to the project. This would be awesome for a robot, but that's not why I'm learning about uC. For most of the projects that I want to use uC for (photographic light-meter, "disposable" model rocket stuff, electronic paintball gun, underwater temperature sensors, simple detection and logic circuits for farm equipment, replacing failed circuit boards in simple appliances, home automation etc.), the Duemilanove either will not fit the space, or it will not be economical. For these applications I had envisioned more of a uC soldered to a small piece of perfboard with whatever minor components (xtal, cap, power jack), with leads going to the transducers.