Arduino 021 resets wrong USB

I have two arduinos plugged into two USB ports (USB4, USB10)

If I select one of them as a target in the pull down menu (USB4)

Then
both of the connected Arduino boards will be reset when I load to the target.

Shouldn't the Arduino 021 IDE reset only the target board on USB4?

Wow thats a new problem symptom. And possibly something never tested for. And yes one would hope the IDE would only reset the selected channel. I would think that it might be a PC driver issue rather then an IDE caused problem and it might be best first to try and determine if this symptom is seen on all three platforms, windows, mac, linux.

Hope you can get some help figuring this one out. :wink:

Lefty

Do you have one or two IDE's ?

If you have two you might simply have to (re)start both of them separately and not use File -> New from the menu. There was another thread lately with a similar error.

What platform do you use?

I have also had this issue a few times. I have one board connected that I am not actively using but is playing music etc (normally playing music), then I upload and the one playing music will reset and go back to the start of the folder of music it is playing through.

Never had a major problem with it, it's just rather annoying.

Mowcius

I would think that with two IDEs started that the different serial port selection might keep the actions seperated between the boards.

Well I would call it a bug if a single instance of the IDE reset comm ports other then the single select comm port selected.

Lefty

you asked: Do you have one or two IDE's ?

I started one IDE, then opened another sketch in a new window. I call that one IDE with two windows opened.

I started one IDE, then opened another sketch in a new window. I call that one IDE with two windows opened.

OK,

Try to start two IDE's by doubleclicking two different .pde files and check if the problem still occurs.

Well I would call it a bug if a single instance of the IDE reset comm ports other then the single select comm port selected.

That's what it does. I have one sketch open fiddling with one board.

The other board is connected but not being used by any instances of the IDE.

Not sure if it always does this or just on occasion but I think it always does it.
Today it seemed to 'half reset' my board too. The music was still playing from where it was (will only stop when arduino is restarted - as long as the rMP3 has power it will keep playing) but the LCD displaying the visualiser froze. I had to reset the board to get the LCD to start working again.

I will look into it more when I get the chance (and I remember :P)

Well, I tried it again. This time I connected both USB cables and then opened one IDE window. It reset both micro boards once at this point.

I selected the USB for the Duemilanove and loaded a sketch for that target. Both boards reset again.

So I compiled and loaded the sketch to the '2009' board. Then I clicked on the 'Serial Monitor' icon. It reset both boards again.

So it has nothing to do with having multiple IDEs or multiple sketches opened at the same time.

Maybe it is in the version of AVRdude or some other low level piece of the system.

I use one '2009' to test the other '2009' and every time this reset buggers up the tests.

Well that kind of sucks. Tell them to fix it. :wink:

The only short term fix I can suggest would be for you to defeat the auto-reset function on the board(s). Just wire a 150 ohm resistor between the +5 volt pin and the reset pin. Remove the resistor when you want to upload to it.

Lefty

Well, I tried it again. This time I connected both USB cables and then opened one IDE window. It reset both micro boards once at this point.

I selected the USB for the Duemilanove and loaded a sketch for that target. Both boards reset again.

So I compiled and loaded the sketch to the '2009' board. Then I clicked on the 'Serial Monitor' icon. It reset both boards again.

So it has nothing to do with having multiple IDEs or multiple sketches opened at the same time.

Maybe it is in the version of AVRdude or some other low level piece of the system.

I use one '2009' to test the other '2009' and every time this reset buggers up the tests.

Yeah that's what I thought.

Well that kind of sucks. Tell them to fix it.

David, fix it ;D

I have two arduinos plugged into two USB ports (USB4, USB10)

David, fix it

So which operating system (and versions, etc) is this? I didn't think that ANY of them ended up naming the ports "USBn"...

which operating system (and versions, etc) is this?

... and whether any/all the boards are connected to an external USB HUB or not?

Right. Windows 7 ultimate, two different ports (neither on hubs, one connected to a mobo port and one to the front case port (from mobo plug) so they are not even on the same internal hub.
One Arduino Duemilanove and one rDuino LEDHead.

I will get off my laptop and go try some more stuff in a bit.

An explination may be that the IDE communicates with the arduino USB chip and not a virtual serial port established by the USB chip. If the USB chips have the same identifier, both may be treated as one.

An explination may be that the IDE communicates with the arduino USB chip and not a virtual serial port established by the USB chip. If the USB chips have the same identifier, both may be treated as one.

That sounds like a promising path to consider. Tell FTDI to get their driver s#$% together.

Lefty

I think this goes back to the rxtx lib. I don't have a problem since switching to eried's patch.

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1237179908

I think this goes back to the rxtx lib. I don't have a problem since switching to eried's patch.

http://www.arduino.cc/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl?num=1237179908

Hmm, perhaps. I have to admit I have not really experienced a slow IDE so I have not tried that yet. I'll try it soon then.

Mowcius