Arduino as a Guitar Effects Switching Controller Question

Hi,

I'm a guitarist and computer programmer (C/C++).

I'm currently giving my guitar effects setup an overhaul.

What I'd like to do is build a switching system that enables me to footswitch between different effects loops. I only require one loop to be active at a time. I'd like to the switching to be foot-controlled, with one switch for each effects loop. I'd like the switching to work so that when the footswitch for a particular channel is pressed, that channel is switched on while all others are switched off (hope that's clear).

I plan on using the runoffgroove Splitter/Blend http://runoffgroove.com/splitter-blend.html for the basic circuit, however what I need help with is figuring how to make a switch controller. Could I use Arduino for this or would something else me better? Are there any Arduino projects that use similar switching? Any other advice would be welcomed.

Cheers,

Chris

So you want to use the Arduino to control relays between the Green Send & Return, and the Red Send & Return, as an example?

That'd be pretty basic stuff to do. Read a digital input, when it goes low from the switch being closed, open the current closed relay and close the next one in sequence.

Great, so I'm on the right track.

I have an old Arduino board (circa 2005 I think) which I've never used for anything. Would this be suitable or should I go for a newer board? If a newer board would be better, which one?

Would any existing projects be helpful as a starting point?

The old board will be fine.
Look in the learning section of this site to get you started.

No, that board should do fine.
You may need to put a new bootloader on it to talk with the latest IDE.

Hardware-wise, you're just looking at something like this I think.

How did this work - I can see two switches but three relays?

Also, is there any code that goes with this?