Help With DS18B20 Values

Hey Everyone, I've been working on a beer automation project. I realize theres a lot of solutions to this idea, but I really wanted to build mine from scratch seeing that I have a lot of extra parts lying around, and in the end I'll understand the relationships from the electronics to the code much better.

I've created a simple temperature logger using an arduino deci. and a really old laptop running debian. Everything seems to work smoothly, I'm logging the data using python and the pyserial library, and storing values into MySql. However pretty often I'm getting a 0.00 temp in my data stream. The weird thing, is that if I use Screen to output the data(no gui just cl), I never see 0.00 on the screen, so I think theres something wrong with the timing between my sensor/arduino and python. I was hoping someone could look at my code and tell me what I'm doing wrong. I'm extremely new to python in general, but I've been toying with the arduino for a while now. This is the first project I've ever done data logging with.

Arduino Code:

#include <OneWire.h>
#include <DallasTemperature.h>

// Data wire is plugged into port 10 on the Arduino
#define ONE_WIRE_BUS 10

// Setup a oneWire instance to communicate with any OneWire devices (not just Maxim/Dallas temperature ICs)
OneWire oneWire(ONE_WIRE_BUS);

// Pass our oneWire reference to Dallas Temperature. 
DallasTemperature sensors(&oneWire);

// arrays to hold device address
DeviceAddress insideThermometer;

void setup(void)
{
  // start serial port
  Serial.begin(9600);
  // locate devices on the bus
  sensors.begin();
  if (!sensors.getAddress(insideThermometer, 0)) Serial.println("Unable to find address for Device 0"); 

// set the resolution to 9 bit (Each Dallas/Maxim device is capable of several different resolutions)
  sensors.setResolution(insideThermometer, 9);
}

// function to print the temperature for a device
void printTemperature(DeviceAddress deviceAddress)
{