GPS video text overlay

I am looking to build a very small GPS video overlay unit to be used on my motorcycle helmet or back pack. I am pretty new to using the Arduino but I think I am picking up the concepts and just keep coming up with new ideas.
So far I was planning on using an Arduino Nano or maybe an Ardweeny in conjunction with a GPS receiver and a Breakout Board for MAX7456 On Screen Display from Sparkfun to have GPS data (Lat/Long, speed and bearing) overlaid on a video signal. I am pretty confident that I can put the components together, but actually making them work will be the challenge. I know of a company that already makes a system that does everything I am asking, but what fun is it if I can't actually build one myself.

Things I would like to be able to do.

1. Put everything in one small project enclosure (GPS, microprocessor, and video overlay). The cameras, quad processor and DVR will be separate with a separate power supply that will be charged off the bike power.
  2. I want to be able to see the Lat/Long, speed and bearing on the screen and adjust their location on the screen as needed.
  3. I would like to use a data logging module (SD Card)to record the actual GPS track to be used in an overlay on Google Earth. I would hope to be able to create a .klm file out of the data.

After looking at the Breakout Board for MAX7456 On Screen Display, I was not able to tell how you program the text input, I would think this is through code loaded to the Arduino. I am assuming that in some fashion the Arduino will take the GPS NMEA signal and push it to the the on screen display though the serial adapter.

Thanks for any advice, I still have some internet shopping to do before I try to put this project together.

You don't say what breakout board you're using, I'm going to assume You are using the Sparkfun one (SparkFun On Screen Display Breakout - MAX7456 - BOB-09168 - SparkFun Electronics).