Has anyone EVER uploaded more than 30k sketch to a Mega 2560 or ADK?

Hi,

I'm new to the arduino, but not to programming. I started with an UNO on Monday and quickly got close to the 32k limit, so I ordered an ADK.

Problem is, if I exceed 30k on the ADK, the sketch fails to complete uploading. Comment out one line of code to reduce the sketch size (any line, not a specific one), and it works.

The whole reason I "upgraded" was to have the extra space. I read some really confusing posts about an incorrect hex file being released May 9th with a new file released on the 11th but not packaged or deployed on new product. I don't have the serial cable, just a USB connection, so the bits I was able to understand seemed impossible for me to do anyway.

Does anyone have any relatively simple fixes for this?

Maybe we can help you reduce your code size. Try posting whatever-it-is that uses up all the memory.

Well, I appreciate the offer of reducing the size...but that misses the root problem. 30 vs 256 is a huge difference. I honestly feel like there are lots of reasons I need more than 30k.

The reason it's large for this project is because I'm syncing the time with an NTP server, I'm making web service calls out of the device and I'm running a web server on it for IP based configuration...in addition to normal sensor readings and firing off some relays as alarm inputs to an access control system.

I also have redundant units that will be communicating with each other to act as active-active failovers...but I can't start working on the peer-to-peer communications with me already being at the erroneous 30k limit.

I do thank you for the spirit of the offer to help reduce size! I just really need closer to 50k...which I figured would be no problem with the 256k ADK unit.

Uploading via the bootloader, I take it? There are some problems with some bootloaders.