2 servos (or any functions) operating simultaneously?

Hello Everyone,

I have an UNO R3 with an Ardumoto shield (just got a seeed MotorShield v1.2 but haven't hooked it up yet) and am working on a prototype for an autonomous hexapod. I'm trying to get at least two servos (eventually 5-8) to operate at the same time, executing different parameters for one 'smooth' leg movement. In other words, pedal movement that traces a path more like an arch than a jerky rectangle. I'm fairly new to programming and totally new to arduino and micro-controllers. So far none of the code I've written will control two servos simultaneously, I'm thinking I probably need to incorporate an IC into the circuit and coding to accomplish this, but so far I haven't found much info on this particular problem.
Any input would be great!

1/5/13 I need help!

Here's what I'm trying to do:

1. Store strings to PROGMEM
  2. Retrieve strings from PROGMEM using Serial()
  3. Write strings to multiple servos in sequence/s

Purpose:
Mainly to have simultaneous operation of multiple servos and sensors, the other would be to conserve memory for functions.

I've made too many changes, additions, omissions to the code to remember everything I've tried. I can't really go much further with my project without solving this problem.
The code I'm working on is post #27.

Any suggestions or additional info will be greatly appreciated!

So far none of the code I've written will control two servos simultaneously

What code?

A place to start would be to look at hex projects others are working on like below.

http://www.lynxmotion.net/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=8409

Here is some of the code I've used so far:

//I have rewritten the 'sweep' example from the 'getting started' section of the site. 
//My arduino is mounted on a robot kit and I am using the 'bumper' sensors (whiskers) as switches 
//to start/stop the servo functions mounted on another stationary platform.

#include <Wire.h>
#include <Servo.h>