General question (LED Matrix)

Hi together!

i'm new to the arduino community since i ordered my first (2009) a few minutes ago. i apologize for my english, i'm not a native english speaker :slight_smile: i hope you can help me.

1. i own a 8x8 LED matrix and first, i justt want to run it without any ICs or something. to light up a LED i set the row-pin to high and the corresponding column-pin to low. but what do i do with the other column pins? in tutorials they write "just dont drive any current through the other pins", but which mode is this?

2. this is kind of a basic electronics question, and i hope i know how to explain it exactly like i mean it. :wink: we have, if set to high, 5V per pin. so i go from each pin 1-8 (#0-7) to a resistor and further to the columns of matrix. and i connect the rows directly to pins 9-16. so e.g. i want to light up the whole row 1. i set all the column-pins to high and the row-pin 1 to low. so i have from every column-pin 20mA driving to the LED, which sums up to 160mA (8x20mA) at the row-pin. i know, the maximum per digital-pin is 50mA, but is this just for "output" or also for the "input"? i mean; is this a problem and what to do about it? yes, i could light up every LED alone, but i want to multiplex the rows.

3. step 2 for me will be the use of 74HC595 to reduce to just 3 pins on the arduino. but with 3 pins i have a maximum of 150mA, but i see people running large LED boards like this. where does the power come from?

thank you very much!

You are correct, the matrix will allow more current flow than is healthy for the IO pins. You don't want more than 20mA in or out on a pin for longevity. LEDs also start wearing prematurely with more than 20mA in most cases.

Solution:
Have the 8 Hi outputs go thru a current limit resistor each to the matrix anodes.
Use part like ULN2803 as buffer for cathodes. Then 8 high outputs can be sunk by 1 low pin on the ULN2803.

8 anodes Hi/Lo, cathode #1 low for some # of mS, then back hi