Arduino Forum

Using Arduino => Displays => Topic started by: rockyli1989 on Nov 08, 2012, 04:28 am

Title: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: rockyli1989 on Nov 08, 2012, 04:28 am
Hi, everyone, I have one problem about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW.
I am not sure how many people here using LabVIEW. Just try some luck.
Here it is:
I purchased this http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0059H60SK/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00 (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0059H60SK/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00)from Amazon--"microtivity IM161 LCD Module 1602, White on Blue with Backlight"(I believe many people use this model)
And follow the intruction from its website and try the "HelloWorld" Example on Arduino.
(http://microtivity.utcdn.net/microtivity.com/IM161-1.png)
I connect RS with pin0, Enable with pin1, RW with ground. DB4 with pin2, DB5 with pin3, DB6 with pin4, DB7 with pin5.
It is successful to run hello world.
I try the same connection on LabVIEW.
The extra configuration choice is "LCD". This is the power to LCD. So I connect port 15 with pin 6 through zener diode.
And set LCD to 6.
I got error code. No Helloworld. Is there anyone know how to solve this?

For people who use LabVIEW:
I checked out the configure VI inside. I don't know why should we set up LCD option. Why don't directly wire the "A" on LCD to power?

Rocky
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: liuzengqiang on Nov 08, 2012, 05:02 am
I use LabVIEW. It's in totally different world from Arduino. Why are you juxtaposing these two concepts? What module are you using to drive the LCD with LabVIEW?
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: rockyli1989 on Nov 08, 2012, 05:56 am

I use LabVIEW. It's in totally different world from Arduino. Why are you juxtaposing these two concepts? What module are you using to drive the LCD with LabVIEW?

I use LCD module under Sensor.
The LCD configuration VI.
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: liuzengqiang on Nov 08, 2012, 02:33 pm
What hardware module then?
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: rockyli1989 on Nov 08, 2012, 05:31 pm

What hardware module then?

I solved this already, just because pin 0 and pin 1cannot be used in VI. I change them to another two pins. It works
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: liuzengqiang on Nov 08, 2012, 06:47 pm
Do you mean you are using arduino in LabVIEW? Arduino pin 0 and 1 are hardware serial pins.
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: rockyli1989 on Nov 11, 2012, 05:38 pm

Do you mean you are using arduino in LabVIEW? Arduino pin 0 and 1 are hardware serial pins.
Yeah, that is the reason. You can control Arduino in LabVIEW using LabVIEW Interface For Arduino(LIFA).
Title: Re: Issues about using LCD with Arduino under LabVIEW
Post by: liuzengqiang on Nov 11, 2012, 06:31 pm


Do you mean you are using arduino in LabVIEW? Arduino pin 0 and 1 are hardware serial pins.
Yeah, that is the reason. You can control Arduino in LabVIEW using LabVIEW Interface For Arduino(LIFA).

Good to know. Thanks.