Arduino Forum

Development => Other Hardware Development => Topic started by: bx16soupapes on Mar 31, 2013, 09:58 am

Title: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: bx16soupapes on Mar 31, 2013, 09:58 am
Hello, i´m newie here, i write this topic to show how sync the arduino-clone "New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M Replace ATmega128 Arduino Compatible Nano" with "USB To RS232 TTL PL2303HX Auto Converter Module Converter Adapter For arduino"

(it took me hours to find how sync this little board)

Pin connection:
5V -> VCC
GND -> GND
TX -> RX
RX -> TX

1.Change the baud of the USB MODULE or "Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port" to 115200 bauds.
2.In the Arduino Sketch change the board to "Arduino Pro or Pro Mini (5V, 16 MHz) w/ ATmega328"
3.Open your program or select "blink" from the examples
4.Press RESET of the Arduino Clone an then press upload sketch and release the reset when show the message "Size of sketch.." or "Tamaño del binario" in my case (spanish version).

that is the solution for my case, sorry for my bad english.

Claudio from Chile


Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: DanyHdez on Apr 12, 2013, 08:13 pm
Hola Claudio soy Dany y hablo español tambien. Pero para que nuestros amigos programadores del mundo lo aprecien bien seguire en ingles! I have the same problem using an Arduino Pro Mini too. I followed your steps and the Blink sketch ran and worked well.
(http://www.sonoratechnical.com/images/ArduinoMiniProCloneMega328P5v16Mhz.jpg)

(http://www.sonoratechnical.com/images/SerialtoUSBAdapterForProgrammingMiniPro.jpg)
I connected the pins like you did it.
Before I load my sketch I press RESET button in the Arduino Pro Mini.
Next I hit Load sketch and
When this line appears: "Binary sketch size:" I release the RESET button and that's it.
It was the solution for me too. But my question is:

Do we need to perform 4th step above and I quote:
Quote
4.Press RESET of the Arduino Clone an then press upload sketch and release the reset when show the message "Size of sketch.." or "Tamaño del binario" in my case (spanish version).

every time we want to load a different sketch?? Is there another solution for this issue??
What do you think folks??
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: CrossRoads on Apr 12, 2013, 08:21 pm
Solution: Use a USB/Serial adapter that supports the DTR pin to drive a 0.1uF cap to the Arduino Reset pin.
Many FTDI FT232 chip based adapters support that.(such as Sparkfun FTDI Basic, and MIKROE-483 from Mouser)
Also some CP2102 modules, find the "Bate" model on ebay that has DTR broken out to a thruhole you can easily access.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: DanyHdez on Apr 12, 2013, 11:06 pm
Thank you for your suggestions, CrossRoads. I will order one of those that you mentioned. In the meantime, Is there anyway I can get it working with the existing USB to Serial device that I already have without pushing and releasing the reset button all the time???

Thanks in advance again!!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: ODwyerPW on Apr 13, 2013, 07:23 am
What tenacity on your part to figure out the RESET button trick...with the perfect timing and all! I just ordered 2 of the Baites myself.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: jimmi87 on Jun 08, 2013, 09:19 am
I'm having trouble getting this to work. I've tried the solution above and it doesn't seem to work. If I hold the reset button down until I see the sketch size prompt, It doesn't seem to do anything. But if I leave it, it will blink rapidly for a bit, then go back to slowly blinking. The FTDI cable only blinks green, (It has red and green leds).

Is there any way I can check the coms rather then just trying to program it?
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: chrissv on Jun 16, 2013, 03:40 am
Here is information where someone wired out the DTR line so the Arduino can do auto-reset for uploading a sketch.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Arduino-USB/?ALLSTEPS

-- Steven
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: b1ackmai1er on Aug 14, 2013, 01:41 pm
This (original post) worked for me using one of these cheapies from Ebay.

(http://1.jpg)(http://2.jpg)

I couldn't get it to work on 115200 baud using Arduino 1.0.5 for which I had to modify the preferences file.
But did work ok on the default 9600 baud.

I found it more reliable to watch the first flash of the LED on USB dongle then watching for the message on screen to trigger the reset release.

Of course, the other method is to use another arduino as a programmer if you have a model where the chip can be removed.
Thanks.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: manotroll on Sep 11, 2013, 08:01 pm
alguem pode posar u video estou com o mesmo problema
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: totally_wired on Nov 06, 2013, 10:02 am
Yes! this solution work great for me also.

A cable with dtr should be better. On the other hand how often are you going to upload new sketches to pro mini?

Make your prototype into a nano and then when finalize the project with a pro mini. These clones of arduino pro mini  are so cheap (less than 4 euros) that you don't mind soldering into the final project board
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: sknightw on Dec 12, 2013, 09:36 pm
I suffer this issue for 1 day, and I use Arduino FTDI Basic FT232RL in Windows 7 64bit version

At last I found, the VCP driver 2.08.30 got some problem with 64bit OS.

I switch to 2.08.24 and there are no problem at all.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: garym1957 on Apr 04, 2014, 08:52 pm
Hey people.
I'm trying to reproduce results from the 4-wire USB to Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M clone setup.  I'm only finding half the information I need.  Is there a more detailed, maybe step by step instruction that includes info like ???

1 - What programmer do I select within the IDE?  (This seems kinda important)
2 - Whats the  actual default baud rate of the MiniPro clones?
3 - How to change baud rate  it if it needs to be changed.
3 - I have a JTAG device, although I don't know how to use it.  Would this be helpful in getting these things programed?

A few things:
I guess 4-wire setup only. My USB to TTL doesn't have DTR.
My USB device has the latest drivers. Its a Prolific USB-to-TTL Serial Convertor 3.4.62.293 And is Windows verified. Its on COM8 as viewed with Device Manager, and is set up for 8,N,1.   There is NO facillity to change DTR or RTS settings that I can find.
I'm running Windows 7 Ultimate.
I'm trying the Arduino IDE as my uploader  but I'm just guessing the bauds, programmer type and a few other things I cant think of right now.
Here is some of the output (It compiles fine)
-----------------------------
avrdude: Version 5.11, compiled on Sep  2 2011 at 19:38:36
         Copyright (c) 2000-2005 Brian Dean, http://www.bdmicro.com/
         Copyright (c) 2007-2009 Joerg Wunsch

         System wide configuration file is "C:\Program Files (x86)\Arduino\hardware/tools/avr/etc/avrdude.conf"

         Using Port                    : \\.\COM8
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 57600
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Send: 0 [30]   [20]
avrdude: Recv:
avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

avrdude done.  Thank you.
-----------------------------

I'd like to point out it ALWAYS returns with
         Using Programmer              : arduino
         Overriding Baud Rate          : 57600

Although I'm using neither. No matter what I set the IDE settings for, it always returns that information.
Its at this point I'm trying to release the button. Actually, just at the end of compile time. But the board goes back to the one-second blink program before the LEDs ever flash on the USB-2-serial board. 

I'm hoping to use these boards in an important project. Any help would be appreciated.  A clear set up instruction would be VERY appreciated.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: michinyon on Dec 30, 2014, 03:06 am
This would have to be one of the most frustrating things ever devised.   A few months ago, I got it working to the point that about 1 in 5 upload attempts actually worked.

Today,  100 times.  It did not work.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: konstantin_leo on Jan 23, 2015, 07:58 pm
Im on OSX Yosemite, had the same problem with SparkFun FTDI board and SparkFun Arduino Pro Mini. This guide fixed the problem: https://learn.sparkfun.com/tutorials/how-to-install-ftdi-drivers/all#yosemite

Had to reboot the machine for the terminal command to work properly, and after that reinstalled the FTDI drivers. Works like a charm now.
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Danielwanghu on Mar 05, 2015, 07:16 am
Pressing the reset button works fine with my pro mini. Thanks a lot!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Danielwanghu on Mar 05, 2015, 07:17 am
Pressing the reset button works fine with my pro mini. Thanks a lot!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Danielwanghu on Mar 05, 2015, 07:17 am
Pressing the reset button works fine with my pro mini. Thanks a lot!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: djdeeno on Apr 17, 2015, 09:02 am
Hi

i have a little question about programming the mini 05 with the uno.
Is that the same way as al other Arduino minis? i see there are 2 rx and tx pins, are they the same? or must u use the pinouts on the top of this board.

Last other question, normally there is standard a bootloader on it right? Or must u upload a bootloader first the the Arduino Mini 05?

Please let me know

(http://image.webcentre.nl/image-9730_5530AF3C.jpg)

(http://image.webcentre.nl/image-F171_5530AF3C.jpg)
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: rjj15 on Jun 05, 2015, 09:17 am
hold the reset button.  Click upload....wait about 2-4 seconds and release reset button.

This worked for me after trying a billion things!!!  I had the usb to arduino mini pro with 4 jumper wires setup correctly the very first time using it without even looking up how to hook it up  tx to rx.  rx to tx.  grd to grd.  5v to vcc.

If there wasnt' the stupid hold reset button the blink example upload would've worked my first time!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Isaac96 on Jun 06, 2015, 04:55 am
You didn't connect the DTR pin?
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: gonnie08 on Jul 05, 2015, 01:42 pm
i  hat the same ,installing this driver help,on windows en MAC
https://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/Pages/USBtoUARTBridgeVCPDrivers.aspx (https://www.silabs.com/products/mcu/Pages/USBtoUARTBridgeVCPDrivers.aspx)
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: dnlfarias on Aug 16, 2015, 03:31 am
Worked fine for me (thanks for the trick!), but without to change the baudrate to 115200 (worked fine at 9600)... and with a little change: KEEP the reset button pressed and connect the USB plug to the port, click "Upload" (sketch) and after the message prompted, release the reset button (don't worry about "timing", wait for the message and release the reset button 1 second later...). Sorry for my "poor" english... Best wishes for all!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: stangduino on Nov 13, 2015, 05:46 pm
SOLVED !

Ok, same problem here. Ordered an "Arduino Pro Mini Pro Compatible USB Programmer & Cable USA ATMEGA328P 16MHz X01" from resistorsdirect on Ebay $8.39 usd. Came with pro mini clone and PL2303HX USB to serial programmer module...no dtx pin. Package had link "http://16mhz.com/info/pl2303.html" sticker so I went to the sight and followed instructions for downloading drivers and connecting modules. Then I spent about 2 hours trying everything I could think of with no luck and finally went to bed.

I got up today and found this thread and tried every suggestion and still no luck. I then went to device manager and right clicked on Prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port / properties / driver / update driver, which brings up the options box - "windows is searching for driver, would you like to skip this step?" I had done this before and alway skipped the step because I had already downloaded drivers so why search again?

This time I just let window search anyway and in about 30 seconds it said it had found the drivers and was downloading and installing them. After windows was done with driver update I followed suggestion on this thread and held reset button down, pressed upload, waited until compiling was done and uploading message appeared, and then released reset button - voila ! it worked - FINALLY!

Also works every time now if I watch timing sequence closely and release  button as soon as uploading message appears.

Hope this helps someone else!

P.S. I also ordered a "CP2102 Replaces FT232 USB to TTL Adapter 5V & 3.3V for Arduino 5 Pin" on ebay from kbellenterprises in Hazelwood,MO. $3.89 usd.
This module has DTR pin. I downloaded drivers for CP2102 and it programmed automatically first time and everytime! I highly recommend getting this inexpensive programmer and forget about all the button pushing and frustration! (no association with seller)

Cheers !
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: haya on Dec 20, 2015, 07:01 pm
Hi. I recently bought the pro mini. I bought a USB to TTL converter and set it up as shown here which is also the same way as shown on the Arduino guide. But my IDE is unable to detect the board. I tried all the suggestions in this thread. I keep getting this error in device manager under "prolific USB-to-Serial Comm Port  (COM 1)": "This device cannot start. (Code 10) A device which does not exist was specified." I even tried downloading the driver from the prolific website and intalling it but it still doesnt work. Please help me. :(
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Koepi on Dec 30, 2015, 11:37 pm
I had similar issues with a PL2303 USB-to-serial converter today. I built a SerProg-Arduino for Flashrom so I can read and write SPI flash roms - I'm trying to hack a wifi bridge/repeater and was fed up with the excessive wring (computer -> ftdi232r -> arduino pro mini -> adapter base -> SOIC8/SOP8 clip), too many possible error possibilities and incoming noise on the DuPont cables.

(http://www2.pic-upload.de/thumb/29277989/2015-12-30-SerProg-Arduino-PL2303-fixed.jpg) (http://www.pic-upload.de/view-29277989/2015-12-30-SerProg-Arduino-PL2303-fixed.jpg.html)

Serial communication worked after trying around soldering different pin-outs (tx-rx, always a mess). But programming didn't work, as observed here already. The usual hack is to solder a thin wire from Pin 2 of the PL2303 to Reset on the Arduino; don't connect directly, but put a 100nF capacitor in between. As you can see on the photo, I did that (the DTR pin should be used, but it is the same. During my tests I changed it to directly connect RST). But that didn't help either.

A few posts above this one is the solution. The output of the Arduino GUI spits out something about 57600 baud.

So trying ...

Code: [Select]
koepi$ avrdude -c arduino -b 57600 -p m328p -P /dev/tty.usbserial

avrdude: AVR device initialized and ready to accept instructions

Reading | ################################################## | 100% 0.00s

avrdude: Device signature = 0x1e950f (probably m328p)

avrdude: safemode: Fuses OK (E:00, H:00, L:00)

avrdude done.  Thank you.


The difference is to set the bitrate to 57600. Then it works - and with this hack, even automatically! :)
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: Deva_Rishi on Mar 02, 2016, 11:32 pm
@ Haya..   http://christian.vanguers.be/?p=319   if you're on windows 8(.1) this should help ! Mind you i've sorted that part, but i still don't have sync, swapped the RX, TX changed the Baud rate, but so far no luck
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: mbenitez01 on Apr 05, 2016, 02:26 am
Had the same problem but a little odder: basic blink sketch failed to load once..but after a couple of tries, it uploaded correctly. Now I went to load my nrf24 client and server and started to get the stack 500 error....but basic blink managed to load.....
followed advice below...
connectedd reset through 10k  to Vcc and push switch to ground...
You press CTRL+U (upload program to arduino); push and keep pressed switch to connect RST to ground.... keep and eye on the screen...progams complies for a while..... as soon as compiling finishes, you see the size of meory used, and so on...as soon as this message appears on screen, you release the button....chip goes through reset -hopefully- at the same time upload starts to chip...PROBLEM SOLVED!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: T6000 on Jun 19, 2016, 05:47 pm
I have a  few of these pro mini deek robots, and the red light is on, and another red led flashes, but i cannot upload to it!, keep getting an out of sinc reply!. Is windows 10 causing problems?
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: drom on Sep 18, 2016, 02:38 pm
Thanks man! It workes!
Title: Re: New Pro Mini atmega328 5V 16M (clone) - not in sync - solved
Post by: inelint on Feb 17, 2017, 02:45 pm
Solucionado!! (SOLVED!) It's just like it says dnlfarias

Worked fine for me (thanks for the trick!), but without to change the baudrate to 115200 (worked fine at 9600)... and with a little change: KEEP the reset button pressed and connect the USB plug to the port, click "Upload" (sketch) and after the message prompted, release the reset button (don't worry about "timing", wait for the message and release the reset button 1 second later...). Sorry for my "poor" english... Best wishes for all!