Arduino Forum

Using Arduino => Installation & Troubleshooting => Topic started by: terryking228 on Oct 27, 2011, 09:58 am

Title: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??
Post by: terryking228 on Oct 27, 2011, 09:58 am
Hi, I have read the troubleshooting and searched this forum...

I have a Duemilanove that works fine on another XP machine.

I have a WIN7 64 bit machine that works fine with UNO and MEGA  running 0022

The Duemilanova connected to same USB port gives a short 3-note sound when plugged in. 
Device Manager finds FT232R that has no driver installed.
"Update Driver" and navigate to 0022/drivers/ftdidrivers.  WIN7 says "Can not find driver for device"

Do I need to get a different driver for FTDI WIN7 64-bit?? Where??

Any advice appreciated!

Title: Re: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??(SOLVED)
Post by: terryking228 on Oct 27, 2011, 10:27 am
OK, here's the situation:  The FTDI USB drivers that come with 0022 don't work on WIN7 64 bit.

NOTE!! See later posts for better solutions

Get: http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/CDM/Beta/CDM20817.zip

Make a new folder under 0022/drivers   I did 0022/drivers/WIN7FTDI
Unzip the ZIP into that folder. Make sure the subfolders get unzipped OK

Plug in your Duemilanove or Mega with FTDI USB Interface chip.
Go to device manager
You should see "FTDI Serial port" with Yellow "Bad" indicator under "other devices".
Right click on that.
Click "browse for driver". Navigate to new driver folder.  Click "go or whatever"
-- you should see "Installing Driver" for a minute..
YOU'RE NOT DONE! You may have an error popup about "Driver not installed correctly"
AGAIN right-click the Yellow mark, Browse, Go.  AGAIN you should see "Installing Driver"

NOW you should no longer see the FTDI entry under "Other devices" in Device Manager...
BUT you should now see USB Serial Port under "PORTS".

Yay....

Now run the IDE, compile and upload GOBP  (Good Old Blink Program)..  OK?? You're set.

PLEASE, PLEASE add this to the Troubleshooting Page!!!
Title: Re: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??
Post by: terryking228 on Nov 29, 2011, 06:22 pm
Hello Admin???

Can we please get this into the TroubleShooting section??  Other people have had this same problem... 
Title: Re: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??
Post by: neetgeek on Jan 18, 2013, 08:00 am
There may be a change since the last post. I had the error message "avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp 0x00". Solved it by going to [windows 7 64 bit] control panel > device manager. When I plugged in arduino UNO to USB, an unknown device was listed. You have to install a device driver. I clicked on unknown device, clicked on driver, install new driver > find driver on my computer > went to where arduino software was installed. followed the link to driver, and it found the driver. Installed the arduino device as COM3.
Title: Re: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??
Post by: retrolefty on Jan 18, 2013, 03:01 pm

There may be a change since the last post. I had the error message "avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp 0x00". Solved it by going to [windows 7 64 bit] control panel > device manager. When I plugged in arduino UNO to USB, an unknown device was listed. You have to install a device driver. I clicked on unknown device, clicked on driver, install new driver > find driver on my computer > went to where arduino software was installed. followed the link to driver, and it found the driver. Installed the arduino device as COM3.


Your are mixing up the requirements for two different arduino boards which require and use different PC USB software drivers. The Duemilanove board uses a FTDI brand USB serial converter chip while the Uno board uses a AVR 8U2 chip to perform the same task. So lets not mix up problem solutions for different boards.

Lefty
Title: Re: Duemilanove OK on XP, WIN7 can't find driver??
Post by: terryking228 on Sep 04, 2013, 12:21 am
Here's another easier install for Windows 7 FTDI drivers.  Get their executable Setup program here:

http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/CDM/CDM20830_Setup.exe

This is just an executable that should run under all Windows versions including Windows 7 32 and 64 bit...