Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 42
1  Using Arduino / Microcontrollers / Re: Looks like we have clones that look real on: April 01, 2013, 04:51:39 pm
I am just betting on it since I am not buying another "official" Ethernet anytime soon.  I was rather shocked when I got my Ethernet Shield and opened up the ChatServer and my unique, one of a kind MAC address was already entered for me.  Only two possibilities, I somehow got David Millis or Tom Igoe's Ethernet Shield or the MAC address is just a safe resting place for developers (especially the high serials of EF:FE:ED).

If anyone wish to verify their "official" Arduino Ethernet MAC, I would love to confirm my theory.

Anyhow, if you run inside you home network, you will be fine with any unique MAC as long as you are behind your router.  You will just need to open a port on the router to access it from the outside or get a home server up for Arduino management.  Arduserver is a good starting place
http://arduserver.com/

@Coding Badly
What does your Ethernet Shield MAC sticker have on it?  Mine has 0xDE:0xAD:0xBE:0xEF:0xFE:0xED which is identical to the ChatServer sketch.
2  Using Arduino / Microcontrollers / Re: Looks like we have clones that look real on: April 01, 2013, 02:19:49 pm
Quote
Even an authentic ethernet shield poses some questions in the MAC address world.  The first three octants indicate the vendor and an authentic has a sticker that is a MAC address (0xDE:0xAD:0xBE:0xEF:0xFE:0xED) registered to Gheo Sa in Switzerland.
This is in line with my previous comment about lack of support and documentation.
It seems the clone maker of my ethernet shield hasn't registered its products, simply
soldered chips to a cloned board and put it in the mail.

Just remember, if you have a project that requires two or more authentic Arduino Ethernet Shields on the same LAN, the sticker on the back will still have the same MAC, so you are going to have to increment in the sketch them to make them unique.  Since these devices are projects/prototypes, the responsibility of registering the MAC would be on the final system manufacturer (you, me, etc) not on the board manufacturer (Arduino, clone maker, etc).

Tom Igoe seems to use a "testing" type MAC in the Twitter sketch of 0x00:0xAA:0xBB:0xCC:0xDE:0x01 that is not registered and ready to increment.
3  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: avrdude sync problem on: April 01, 2013, 08:05:02 am
Quote
This leads to believe, that perhaps the drivers and serial to usb converter on the board are working good, what are other possibilities?

The only one that remains is the bootloader on the Atmega328 is corrupted.  When you plug power or USB into your Uno, do you get three fast flashes on the user LED marked "L"?
4  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: Arduino based PCB - layout, crystal and planes on: March 31, 2013, 11:50:03 pm
Very nice explanation DigitalRS.  It is good to know there are clear-speak teachers out there.  I have known CV probe Sr. Engineers that took two days to explain what you did in a single post.  Thank you for dropping in.
5  Using Arduino / Microcontrollers / Re: Looks like we have clones that look real on: March 31, 2013, 11:14:58 pm
Speaking of suckers, I bought a cheap ethernet shield [mainly as an experiment to
see what I'd get], and it doesn't have a MAC number marked on it.

Even an authentic ethernet shield poses some questions in the MAC address world.  The first three octants indicate the vendor and an authentic has a sticker that is a MAC address (0xDE:0xAD:0xBE:0xEF:0xFE:0xED) registered to Gheo Sa in Switzerland.  I would bet that EVERYONE with an authentic Arduino Shield has that same MAC address sticker on the back.  It is an Italian computer consultancy outfit that I fail to find the connection with Arduino. 

Essentially, the assigned MAC means nothing concerning the hardware.  The MAC is not written to any of the chips and as long as they are unique in a network, they will work just fine.  The MAC would need to be registered if you attempt to operate on the internet like an internet modem etc.  Since, you would be writing the code, you would assign the MAC based on the first three octants that were registered to you and then serialize the next three octants.


---EDIT: Spelling...
6  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: avrdude sync problem on: March 31, 2013, 06:42:02 pm
Hmmm...this is very interesting.  I have an Uno R2 that enumerates as a "Communications Port" and a Uno R3 that enumerates as a "Arduino Uno".  Obviously, they run different firmware, but I was sure that it came up R2.  Anyhow...

Have you tried to upload a sketch through the IDE to the Communications Port COM34?
7  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: Arduino Micro, driver problem on: March 31, 2013, 05:37:45 pm
Quote
Automatic (Software) Reset and Bootloader Initiation
Rather than requiring a physical press of the reset button before an upload, the Micro is designed in a way that allows it to be reset by software running on a connected computer. The reset is triggered when the Micro's virtual (CDC) serial / COM port is opened at 1200 baud and then closed. When this happens, the processor will reset, breaking the USB connection to the computer (meaning that the virtual serial / COM port will disappear). After the processor resets, the bootloader starts, remaining active for about 8 seconds. The bootloader can also be initiated by pressing the reset button on the Micro. Note that when the board first powers up, it will jump straight to the user sketch, if present, rather than initiating the bootloader.
Because of the way the Micro handles reset it's best to let the Arduino software try to initiate the reset before uploading, especially if you are in the habit of pressing the reset button before uploading on other boards. If the software can't reset the board you can always start the bootloader by pressing the reset button on the board.
http://arduino.cc/en/Main/ArduinoBoardMicro
8  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: avrdude sync problem on: March 31, 2013, 11:52:27 am
@Simonas,

Which IDE version are you using?  Arduino 1.0.4 now has Microsoft signed drivers and eried's Enhanced IDE is very nice for installing on fussy Windows systems:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,118440.0.html

Another work around is a USB hub which will cause the device to enumerate on a different com port.
9  Using Arduino / Programming Questions / Re: Do something once when switch closed, then blink LED until switch opened on: March 30, 2013, 12:21:01 pm
If you post you code, the "experts" will come   smiley

Definition of an expert:

X - unknown
spurt - a drip under pressure

Or...

"An expert is a person who has made all the mistakes that can be made in a very narrow field." - Niels Bohr

I keep on making new ones, so I must defer...
10  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: Arduino Micro, driver problem on: March 30, 2013, 12:11:40 pm
If you burn any hex file to the microcontroller, the bootloader will be over-written and you will have to burn the bootloader back on to enable sketch uploading capability.
11  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00 on Sanguinololu on: March 30, 2013, 11:55:55 am
Here is a handy GUI for checking fuses, burning hex etc.
http://avr8-burn-o-mat.aaabbb.de/avr8_burn_o_mat_avrdude_gui_en.html

Until the fuse settings are optimized, serial communications are next to impossible.  It was a bit of work to get my breadboad "mega 1284" up, and the others extensively troubleshot the problem.  The results were the XTAL pins on the DIP were too close to UART0 and noise was carrying over into the serial communications (ATMEL defect), but only on SOME chips.  The SMD 1284p has no troubles, and I thought it was odd the 644p had no trouble.

Just a note, the TinyISP will not be able to bootload the 1284p.  The 644p (64k) flash is the limit for that programmer.  If you have another Arduino, you could use it as a Arduino as ISP and get the bootloader on.  You should be able to change fuses though.  Other than the flash, 1284p and 644p are functionally identical.
12  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: Arduino & EasyVR Connection Problem! (NEED HELP!) on: March 30, 2013, 11:35:06 am
Ah... just the module.  Well then.  Out of the gate, you state that you have the ERx (EasyVR) -> Pin12 (Mega) and ETx -> Pin13.  This is backwards according to the sketch:

Quote
  EasyVR Bridge

  Soft-connects pins 0 (Rx) to 13 (ERX) and 12 (ETX) to 1 (Tx)
  with roughly 5us sample rate, for connecting with the GUI.

Try switching the jumpers on the Mega and see what happens.

I fired up my EasyVR Shield with no issues on a Mega.
13  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: Arduino Micro as ISP and atTiny84A on: March 30, 2013, 02:28:25 am
Quote
I think those are physical pins.  I think the diagram in the upper-left corner is the one of interest...  MOSI is top-left; SS is next to MOSI; SCK is top-right; MISO is next to SCK.

I suspect the ArduinoISP sketch will have to be modified for the SS pin.

I checked, and the pins on the board and chip coincidentally correspond (Yeah, that does not happen often enough).

The SS/Reset trigger (D10 on the Uno) was a concern for me as well, but I can not find "D10" in the sketch.  It appears to be a SPI hardware call (SS or chip select) and must be in the avr library.  Gammon's programmer would need adjusting from D10 to D8, like the Mega2560.  I will check it out with my Leonardo this weekend.

Edit ---

My bad, SPI is PB0-3.  I put my brain back in and realize your correct on the pin-outs.  Check the pins_arduino

Only access is through the ICSP header.
14  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: Can not put Arduino UNO R2's atmega 16U2 into DFU mode on: March 30, 2013, 01:36:01 am
Does it (Windows) notify you with a sound (like plugging in a USB device)?
15  Using Arduino / Installation & Troubleshooting / Re: avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00 on Sanguinololu on: March 30, 2013, 01:34:16 am
Stormbeard
I'm having the same problem. avrdude: stk500_getsync(): not in sync: resp=0x00

I'm running window 7 32 bit
I have Sanguino ATMEGA644P pre built , tested and loaded with boot loader.
...
                                                                                           rji006

Which Arduino IDE version are you using?  Also, since you have a TinyISP, can you get your fuse settings from you 644p?

Here is another frustrated customer, but it looks like a problem that some of us had with the 1284p DIP model getting noise on the UART.
http://dustsreprap.blogspot.com/2011/06/sanguinololu-fuses.html

Code:
sanguino.bootloader.low_fuses=0xFF
sanguino.bootloader.high_fuses=0xDC
sanguino.bootloader.extended_fuses=0xFD

Anyhow, "Dust" seems to be still running his blog and may have some suggestions other than the fuse settings.
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 42