Show Posts
Pages: [1] 2 3 4
1  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: External power supply with FT232 standalone programmer on: January 31, 2014, 05:42:31 pm
Okay, you're help was much appreciated smiley-grin smiley-grin
2  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: External power supply with FT232 standalone programmer on: January 30, 2014, 03:53:33 am
The programmer itself will be powered through the USB port. However the atmega chip will be powered through an external power supply. I'm not sure if this will cause any trouble smiley.
3  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: External power supply with FT232 standalone programmer on: January 28, 2014, 05:53:52 pm
Ok great. So if I'm right I hook up my external power source and connect the TX, RX, GROUND and DTR pins (and ofcourse leave the VDD pin unconnected) from the programmer to the correct pins of the atmega chip and everything should be ready to go?
So the DTR pin is used to reset the chip after the code is uploaded?? Because I will use a jumper from the reset pin to ground to reset the chip if needed, but I don't want to short the jumper every time if I upload a code  smiley-razz. Thanks smiley smiley
4  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: External power supply with FT232 standalone programmer on: January 28, 2014, 02:12:48 pm
Anyone smiley-grin?
5  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / External power supply with FT232 standalone programmer on: January 26, 2014, 05:29:11 am
Hello,

At the moment I'm building a 8x8x8 LED cube, all components will be placed on a custom pcb except the programmer. I bought this little programmer a couple weeks ago to program a standalone atmega328p: http://www.ebay.com/itm/380717046158?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2648. I want to use this to program my led cube, however I'm not sure if I'm able to do so. Normally you would connect the tx/rx to the tx/rx of the chip and connect the vcc/gnd from the programmer to the vcc/gnd of the chip. However I want to use an external power supply instead of the power supply of the programmer (only 500mA, so if the cube will light up it won't be able to supply enough current). So I only connect the tx/rx from the programmer to the tx/rx from the chip and share the ground from the programmer with the ground of the power supply, anybody know if this setup is going to work or not?

thanks in advance!
6  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: Why do people use NPN transistors in order to build a LED cube? on: May 01, 2013, 05:36:25 am
Well you can power a 5x5x5 LED cube from the arduino itself by using shift registers and 5 npn transistors for switching to gnd. I run my cube @ ~13mA per led. So if I light up 1 layer it only draw 325mA + some current for the chips/uno itself of the 450mA(or 500mA, however I'm not sure) available. Though its working you can't light up more than 1 layer at the time, because of this you have to multiplex the cube... In my thread there are some pics of my cube as you can see I only use 5 npn transistors:http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,144057.0.html. You have to use those transistors because the arduino can only sink up to 40mA per pin, with 5 transistors you only need a limited amount of current from the arduino pins to the base of the transistor to switch it to gnd.
7  Using Arduino / Project Guidance / Re: Problem using 74HC595 shift registers on: April 13, 2013, 04:12:36 pm
Actually the 100nf between the latch and ground is not correct. The 100nf should be between the vcc and ground of the chip.

About the code, did you try the code given by the shift out tutorial?
8  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 4 x 4 x 4 LED Cube with Shift Registers on: April 09, 2013, 02:07:55 am
Well you can also adjust the brightness via my given code. The code I gave you was a bit easier (because its easier to understand without the brightness control)then Im using, because I can also change the brightness of the leds(in the first 5 seconds I use brightness control to let my cube flash): https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_mEOX-k7gy4&feature=youtube_gdata_player
9  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 4 x 4 x 4 LED Cube with Shift Registers on: April 08, 2013, 12:23:29 pm
Well, originally I was using a couple arrays for my animations as well. However I quikcly ran out of memory, so I tried the progmem function. It went a little better, but after a couple of more arrays the cube became glitchy and buggy as well. So my conclusion, you can't use any large number of arrays in the code and possibly 1 large array like hippynerd has the same problems. This is the code im using atm, it has a timer which take care of the multiplexing at a very high frequency. If you don't understand it you can always pm me.

NOTE: This code is used for a 5x5x5 LED cube, im using 6 shift register. 5 LEDs on each shift register, with a total number of 5 SR's. The 6th SR is taking care of the levels via npn transistors.

NOTE2: Once there is data in the led0 array, it will stay in there unless you clear it with zeros.

Code:
#include <SPI.h>
#define latchPin 2
#define clearPin 3
#define dataPin 11
#define clockPin 13

int shift_out;
byte cubeLevelBit[5];
byte led0[25];
int level=0;
int cubeLevel=0;
void setup(){
SPI.setBitOrder(MSBFIRST);
SPI.setDataMode(SPI_MODE0);
SPI.setClockDivider(SPI_CLOCK_DIV2);
noInterrupts();
TCCR1B = 10;
TIMSK1 = 2;
OCR1A= 30;
pinMode(latchPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(dataPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(clockPin, OUTPUT);
pinMode(clearPin, OUTPUT);
cubeLevelBit[0]=1; //level 1/5
cubeLevelBit[1]=2; //level 2/5
cubeLevelBit[2]=4; //level 3/5
cubeLevelBit[3]=8; //level 4/5
cubeLevelBit[4]=16;//level 5/5
SPI.begin();
interrupts();
}

void loop(){
  //led(which level the led is located, which row the led is located, which column the led is located);
  led(4,1,2);
}

void led(int level, int row, int column){
  if(level<0)
  level=0;
  if(level>4)
  level=4;
  if(row<0)
  row=0;
  if(row>4)
  row=4;
  if(column<0)
  column=0;
  if(column>4)
  column=4;  
  int Byte = (((level*25)+(row*5)+column)/5);
  int ledByte=(level*25)+(row*5)+column;
  bitWrite(led0[Byte], ledByte-(5*Byte), 1);
}
ISR(TIMER1_COMPA_vect){ // MULTIPLEXER
 PORTD |= 1<<clearPin;
 SPI.transfer(cubeLevelBit[cubeLevel]); // i got
 for(shift_out=level; shift_out<level+5; shift_out++)
 SPI.transfer(led0[shift_out]);
 PORTD |= 1<<latchPin; //direct pin acces, its faster then digitalWrite
 PORTD &= 0<<latchPin;
 PORTD &= 0<<clearPin;
 cubeLevel++;
 level = level+5;
 if(cubeLevel==5)
 cubeLevel=0;
 if(level==25)
 level=0;
}
10  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: April 06, 2013, 01:36:39 pm
Actually I don't have any schematics or instructions really smiley-sad. If you really need help I can make some instructions though, but a search on google maybe gives you more information?

Its long time ago I made a vid. This is due I was very busy with school ( i had to make a Graphical User Interface for a little project, which was a good learning experience!). Last week I finally had some time to rewrite a code for my LED cube, now I'm using a Interrupt service routine to multiplex my cube and I'm able to adjust the brightness of the LEDs which results in this smiley:

11  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: March 08, 2013, 10:01:06 am
Well I couldnt wait and modified the code to SPI.transfer. Still no problems with ghosting...

link:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5jzjoelre7b6h4g/xAy4sVeAhI/LED_CUBE.ino

Edit: Still the code I'm using is not a good way to program the cube. After a while u will run out of memory and the cube is going to do strange things. Even now I'm using PROGMEM its not working. Is it possible that you can post your code as well??
12  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: March 08, 2013, 09:47:46 am
Yes SPI transfer is faster, however this code is version 1, so I will have a look at it to let it perform better in the near future smiley.

Maybe I'm going to create an array generator for the animations as well.
13  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: March 08, 2013, 08:51:08 am
this is the proper link in case its not working smiley-wink:
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/5jzjoelre7b6h4g/t-_ULpv3Oq/DesignV1.ino

Edit: Notice in this code all the animationDelay times are 100milliseconds. In the video I showed they aren't.
14  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: March 08, 2013, 08:42:05 am
I have not seen 'ghosting'on my cube. However if I light up 1 layer, the layer above the lit one will shine very dim. But this is due the light goes through the bottom of the LEDs.

15  Using Arduino / LEDs and Multiplexing / Re: 3x3x3 LED cube, newbie questions (5x5x5 comming soon) on: March 07, 2013, 05:17:54 pm
Been a while I posted something here. Last weeks I was very busy with school (we are developing a weighing scale). However I managed to make a very easy animation for my cube smiley, enjoy:

Pages: [1] 2 3 4