Go Down

Topic: Simple optical trigger (Need help!) (Read 1 time) previous topic - next topic

MustangChris429

I've been working on this project off and on for 2 years now and have really had a lot of trouble.

About myself:
  I'm a mechanical engineer who recently graduated so I've had some basic background in electronics and programming
  My parents own a tree nursery in which they grow deciduous trees for landscaping.

The problem:
-Nursery trees should be fertilized at least twice a year.
  -Fertilizing the trees with granular fertilizer is expensive and labor intensive.  Typically 5 people are needed and it takes all day to do the whole nursery.
  -The trees are planted in rows: http://margolisco.com/margolisco/wp-content/uploads/2011/04/Screen-shot-2011-05-04-at-5.13.08-PM.png

The solution:
  -Adapt a corn planter: http://www.purplewaveauction.com/i/a/2012/20120425ag/B6521.JPG to apply fertilizer in individual doses to trees.

Operation:
1. The tractor will drive down a row of trees (rows on both sides).
2. The optical sensors located near the front of the implement, on either side, will detect that a tree is present.
3. The sensors will send this information to an Arduino controller located on the tractor.
4. The Arduino will delay a specified amount, then trigger a digital output for a specified duration.

Needs:
  The sensors must be able to be weatherproofed.
  The Arduino must handle two separate channels.
  The sensors must be located 10-15 feet from the Arduino.
  The Arduino must have user inputs for the delay and duration of the event
  The Arduino should probably have user input for min and max distance measured (if using measuring sensor)