Go Down

Topic: Autonomous Car & Plane (Read 850 times) previous topic - next topic

Wcallum

hi,  so I'm new to Arduino.  (so new I haven't even ordered one yet.) and I was wondering if someone could hep me with what I should buy for the project.  I have an RC car and plan on making a plane (I have made several before).  the issue that I can see is that the car and plane will require PWM outputs.  for the car I have 2 inputs from my receiver and 2 outputs, the boards I have seen have 6 PWM inputs / outputs.  But for the plane, i will need 4 inputs and 4 outputs.  this is more than the 6 and I was planning on adding more later for more functions.

I have heard that there is a way to turn normal outputs into PWM outputs by timing them with on and off.  would this mean that all the outputs would be PWM?  or only some more. 

I am also not sure which board I would need to get but I was thinking of the Arduino Uno.  is that a good choice?

is there a simple kit set of pieces for the Arduino?  I was thinking of something with some simple parts like wires and a breadboard.

finally,  does anyone know of a good GPS and a 3 axis magnetometer that would work with an Arduino?  or a compass instead of a 3 axis magotomiter.

Thanks for reading all of this and I really appreciate the hep from you all!!!!

thanks

Callum

AWOL

What do you want the PWM for?
Servo/ESC control or direct motor speed control?

If the former, just use the Servo library on any pin.
"Pete, it's a fool (who) looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.
I speak for myself, not Arduino.

PaulS

Aug 31, 2016, 02:54 pm Last Edit: Aug 31, 2016, 02:55 pm by PaulS
But for the plane, i will need 4 inputs and 4 outputs.  this is more than the 6 and I was planning on adding more later for more functions.