Go Down

Topic: Basic Arduino Questions  (Read 725 times) previous topic - next topic

Empty

Hey guys.
I'm completely new to Arduino, but I'll start my own project soon. I have some stupid questions to start with and more coming along when I start to build:

1.Does every part has its own code? By that, I want to know, if, for example, I write a code for LEDs, then I have to upload it, then add code to motor drivers, upload that, then add code to sensors and so on? Or I have to write a big code, which includes all the parts?
2.How do I count or check how much features(code) I can add to Arduino. I know im gonna use Arduino Uno, or one of its clones, and it has a 32 bit memory to it.

Im sorry in advance for my english, or maybe choosing the wrong forum section to post this.

Nick_Pyner

You write and upload one programme that covers all the features.

The IDE will advise you of the size of the programme you have just compiled. If it is too boig for Uno, it will tell you.

Empty

Follow up question. Do I still need to use just two voids for setup and loop, and not create new ones for each task in the main program?

Nick_Pyner

Correct - just bigger voids.

Delta_G

Follow up question. Do I still need to use just two voids for setup and loop, and not create new ones for each task in the main program?
Void is a type. Function is the word your looking for. The void in front of it just means it doesn't return a value.

You'd do well to keep your code localized in functions that you can call from loop as needed. It makes the code much easier to manage as it grows.
|| | ||| | || | ||  ~Woodstock

Please do not PM with technical questions or comments.  Keep Arduino stuff out on the boards where it belongs.

Robin2