Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: New here - Planning a 5x5x5  (Read 2312 times)
SydneyAust.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi
First post, don't flame me  lol
I am new to arduino, but have had a tiny bit of electronics exposure.  I plan to do a 5x5x5 LED cube. 
I'll use a ArduinoUNO and multiplex the LEDs using the 14 outputs - 7 cathode and 7 anode, multiplexing each through a grid of 12(3x4) transistors.
Still very much in the planning phase...
I have to learn what LED to use, what the pin resistor value should be, what the LED resistor value should be when powering via the transistor.
I have to check if multiplexing the 125 LEDs would give enough brightness as it cycles through.
I'm sure all this has been discussed, pointers to info welcome!
Cheers from Sydney Australia.

Gosport, UK
Faraday Member
View Profile

Google is your friend. www.google.com/search?q=arduino+5x5x5+led+cube

SydneyAust.
View Profile

Thanks.
Anyway, I think I'll approach it on a grade-and-pave basis.
Get the hardware
Test driving one LED
Test driving one LED with transistor
Test driving 12 LEDs with transistor 4x3 array
Test driving 2x LED cube with anode&cathode on transistors
Build complete 5x LED cube and transistor arrays
Wire and try smiley

SydneyAust.
View Profile

Done some googling .. thanks dxw00d

What value of current limiting resistor would I need for the (ArduinoUNO) pin controlling the transistor base?

I will use 2N2222 NPNs multiplexing the LED using Arduino power.   As I understand it, if I use too high a resistance, the transistor will not go into saturation and will heat up, and if I use too low a resistance the transistor will oversaturate and not be able to operate at such a high frequency (probably not so big a problem since it will be multiplexed and cycled..