Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: pressure sensor reading  (Read 698 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

first of all hi to everyone (noob here)

first let give some background on myself and what i am trying to achieve.

i am electrical engineer and my background is mainly PLC's & Variable speed drives for the automotive industry. i currently use a PLC & pressure transmitter to read the pressure within a cabin and i give the plc a setpoint to look for- in this case its -10 pascal and i use the plc to control a variable speed drive to control a extract motor (the input motor speed is fixed) so the pressure will increase/drecrease accord to the speed of the extract motor to give the cabin a pressure of -10 pascal (remember the setpoint) and this is done by some fancy maths and PID.

now the ARDUINO bit
because of the expense of the plc (it does do other stuff within the control process) i wish to replicate some of the above function on the arduino unu for retro fit purposes, i just need a little help.

i can read the pressure transmitter through arduino by using the 4-20ma output and a 250ohm resistor to give 1-5v but i need to rescale this so i can work to a certain amount of accurancy (i will work out the pid bit later)
so how can i rescale this
pressure transmitter is 4-20ma -500 - 500 pascal - so 4ma is -500 and 20ma is 500 pascal
any ideas?
thanks for reading ta

SW Scotland
Edison Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile