Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: [SOLVED] Problem whit graphic lcd  (Read 1211 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hello everyone,
 first of all I apologize for cross-posting (I also posted in the Italian section)
 Today I bought a LCD panel (Displaytech 64128Q) and I loaded a sketch of the of example but I have a problem(incorrect characters)
Here an example:



 I checked several times the connections but are correct.
 Where am I doing wrong?
« Last Edit: April 20, 2012, 06:42:04 pm by acron » Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 452
Posts: 18694
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Show the sketch perhaps?
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Show the sketch perhaps?
This is the sketch that I found in the GLCD library.
I've an arduino Mega1280
Code:
// include the library header
#include <glcd.h>

// include the Fonts
#include <fonts/allFonts.h>

void setup() {
  // Initialize the GLCD
  GLCD.Init();

 // Select the font for the default text area
  GLCD.SelectFont(System5x7);

  GLCD.print("hello, world!");
}

void loop() {
  // set the cursor to column 0, line 1
  // (note: line 1 is the second row, since counting begins with 0):
  GLCD.CursorTo(0, 1);

  // print the number of seconds since reset:
  GLCD.print(millis()/1000);
}
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 47
Posts: 2323
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've seen stuff like that happen when there is a loose wire.
Notice that the missing pixels seem to be on the right half of the display.
My guess is a loose/missing/broken/mis-wired control signal.
Check the chip select lines, r/w and DI signals very closely.


Run the diag sketch and post the output here.

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I've seen stuff like that happen when there is a loose wire.
Notice that the missing pixels seem to be on the right half of the display.
My guess is a loose/missing/broken/mis-wired control signal.
Check the chip select lines, r/w and DI signals very closely.


Run the diag sketch and post the output here.

--- bill

This is the output of the diag sketch
 
Code:
Serial initialized
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Reported Arduino Revision: 0.22
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD Lib Configuration: glcd ver: 3 glcd_Device ver: 1 gText ver: 1
GLCD Lib build date: Mon Dec  5 01:50:07 CST 2011
GLCD Lib build number: 442
Panel Configuration:ks0108
Pin Configuration:ks0108-Mega
--------------------------------------------------------------------
GLCD:ks0108 DisplayWidth:128 DisplayHeight:64
Chips:2 ChipWidth:64 ChipHeight:64
 CSEL1:33(PIN_C4) CSEL2:34(PIN_C3)
 RW:35(PIN_C2) DI:36(PIN_C1) EN:37(PIN_C0)
 D0:22(PIN_A0) D1:23(PIN_A1) D2:24(PIN_A2) D3:25(PIN_A3)
 D4:26(PIN_A4) D5:27(PIN_A5) D6:28(PIN_A6) D7:29(PIN_A7)
Delays: tDDR:320 tAS:140 tDSW:200 tWH:450 tWL:450
ChipSelects: CHIP0:(33,0x1, 34,0x0) CHIP1:(33,0x0, 34,0x1)
Data mode: byte
--------------------------------------------------------------------
Diag Loop: 1
Initializing GLCD
Displaying ChipSelect Screens
Walking 1s data test
 Compare error: 0 != 2
 Compare error: 0 != 8
TEST FAILED
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 47
Posts: 2323
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So what do you see on the display when the diags runs?
What do the initial images look like?
Especially during the initial animation of the triangle being drawn
from the top left to the bottom right of the display.
Do the images on the display look like the images in the documentation?

Are all the control wires hooked up as indicated in the diag output?
Did any of the wires look loose, in particular the chip select lines?

Can you post some clear closeup photos of your wiring as well as a wide
shot that shows all the wiring.

--- bill

Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thank you for your help,
I even tried to make all the connections but the result is always the same.
In the first screen I see the triangle column yes and no, I see something the following screens, but there are several bright pixels randomly

Sorry for my bad english smiley-confuse

Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 47
Posts: 2323
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
the result is always the same.
Are you sure about this?
Usually when there is an issue like this it is not *exactly* the
same. There will be slight differences between each iteration.

In %99.9 percent of the cases, it is a wiring issue.
The other portion being a bad glcd, but the bad glcds
are usually do to previous incorrect wiring.

Usually it is something simple, like mis connecting wires.

Post some clear closeup photos of your wiring as well as a wide
shot that shows all the wiring.

I will need to be able to see where all 13 wires are connected
to the GLCD and to which arduino pins.

Also, a video of the display during the diags might be helpful.

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

here is the video:
 http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KAqsPoZpXSw&feature=youtu.be
 Unfortunately I can not get a clear photo of the wiring.
 I also tried changing the wires with jumpers pre-wired .....
Logged

Dallas, TX USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 47
Posts: 2323
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

It looks like some sort of wiring error.
Take some close up clear macro photos of the wiring and a wide shot of the wiring
and post them here so we can see the wiring.

Also verify all the wires in your wiring according to the diag output.
csel 1, pin 33
csel 2, pin 34
rw, pin 34
etc..
d7, pin 29

Make sure that all wires are properly soldered to the glcd module
and that each wire is properly connected to the correct mega pin.
Do not twist wires together. Use a single wire or solder wires together when
using more than a single wire for a connection.
On the mega it is easy to accidentally connect the wires by one pin off,
get the even/odd pins backwards, or accidentally count the +5v along the top as pin 22

--- bill
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 128
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I solved it!! I continued to check the wiring but it was the welding of the connector on the display. smiley-red smiley-red
 thank you very much bill !!!
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: