Go Down

Topic: randomly activating a solenoid within 15 second time frame (Read 745 times) previous topic - next topic

stivheys

hi my this is my first post here i am quite new to the scene i have a little experience with arduino but also a limited amount (i have build a 3d printer from tutorials with one)

my current project is this:

i want to be able to press a push button switch to activate a timer that randomly triggers a solenoid once within 15 seconds of it being pressed and the ability to return the solenoid to its original posistion with the press of another push button switch without a delay (i am under the impression that a decent sized solenoid cant be triggered directly from the arduino because of the limited power available this is fine as i will use a car battery to supply the power for this)

how easy is this going to be,what components will i need (if any) besides my arduino wires battery switch and solenoid and where do i start?

i am also new to the coding too as i have used open source code for previous projects

im sorry if i have been a little vague here if i have missed any important information please let me know and i will try to give all the info i can

your time and help is much appreciated  :)

thanks in advance and have a good day all

tylernt

how easy is this going to be,
Easy.

what components will i need (if any) besides my arduino wires battery switch and solenoid and where do i start?
Well depending on the solenoid, you're going to want either a transistor or a reed relay or a relay module to trigger it. Do you have the datasheet for the solenoid? We need to know how many (milli)amps it draws or how many Ohms of resistance its coil has.

If you have one button to energize the solenoid and another one to retract it, you do not need to debounce the buttons (that makes things easier). It's best to use the INPUT_PULLUP pinMode for these and look for them to go LOW with digitalRead() when the button is pressed.

Also: