Go Down

Topic: Can someone go over my code please? 16ch chicken incubator (Read 2376 times) previous topic - next topic

rvannly

Hi everyone,

I'm fairly new to programming, and have this project I'm doing for my father. He asked me to control a chicken Incubator, but 16 of them. I decided to use the dht22 sensors being it reads temp. and humidity. To keep the internal temperature at a constant 100 Deg F, I will be using a 100w 120/220v light bulb in each of the 16 incubators. All 16 relays are controlled by a SainSmart 16ch relay board. Along with the climate control I also have a 24v Linear actuator in each incubator to tilt the egg trays at a 45 deg each way. This actuator tilts the tray to 45 deg every 1hour. This is where I need help, so far I can log temp and humidity from two sensors (the rest or in the mail) and the light bulbs are turning on and off according to set temps. The millis function is still a little hard to grasp, I've just saw my first arduino code or any type of code, just 3 weeks ago. Anyhow, here's my code so far. OH, thanks in advance

PS. Saintsmart lcd display is also going to be integrated, but later.

Code: [Select]
/* 16 channel Incubator
created/ modified apr 20 2012
by Roth Ly
Also bits of code has been used from "frostin" of Arduino forum:
http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?topic=70742.0

This code is for a 16 channel chicken incubator, where a total of
16 seperate incubator will be controlled via one Arduino Mega.
16 Dht22 senor inputs will run in to digital I/O 23,25,27...37.
A 16 channel relay board from sain smart takes care of switching
the heating element(100watt bulb) needed in each of the 16 incubators to keep an
internal temp of 100F. Along side the sensor data and relay switching
there is also a code for turning a separate DPDT relay on and off to activate
a linear actuator every hour.

Modified Blink without Delay
Turns on and off a DPDT relay connected to a digital pin (off for 1hr, on for 1hr)