Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Very first arduino project help.  (Read 529 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So i purchased my arduino uno about two weeks ago, and since then the only significant thing i've done with it is make an L.E.D. be able to turn on/off and change it's brightness. I really want to get going with it, and have decided my first project to be a bike turning light signal/brake light system. So i figured to start my project i'd get some help from people who are already very familiar with the arduino and electronics in general. Since it is my first project, i want to do as much of it as i can on my own, but was hoping you guys could "guide" me in the right direction and give me a hint or two on figuring out how to layout this whole idea.

I'll start off by saying i already know a good amount about electronics (what voltage is, current, watts, ohms law, different components etc. etc.), but i don't know much about the arduino sketch program. I bought the starters book, but that really hasn't helped me out. My idea was to make it so when i hit a momentary switch (for the right or left side of the bike turn signal) the signal will start to blink. It will keep blinking until i turn my wheel, which will have exposed wires positioned that they simply "brush" against each other when i'm turning. As i'm turning it will still be blinking but when i return the wheel back to going straight the wires will brush again and the second time will mean that the turn is done and the blinking will stop. In total three exposed wires; one that is moving (ground) to make contact with either the right or left wire, and the two other wires that corresponds to either turn signal. I also want to make it so when i pull on either of the brakes, a new set of red lights below the signals would light up. Five L.E.D.s would make up each signal, forming an arrow like this: <  > , and right below would the the red brake L.E.D.s in this layout - - .