Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Down
Author Topic: Help with LED Cluster needed (Urgent)  (Read 2485 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

I need to get this project done as soon as possible (it's part of a bigger project for university), so any help is much much appreciated! Everything works with 1 LED as well as 8 LEDs (on a breadboard using 330 ohm resistors), however I would like to use the LED cluster I bought instead of just 1 LED or 8 LEDs. Also, if you have an ideas for increasing the sensitivity of a sound sensor, please let me know smiley

I have the following LED Cluster from Maplin: http://images.maplin.co.uk/300/pd01b.jpg
How would I go about connecting this LED cluster to the Arduino? (Please bear in mind I am a total newbie in electronics).

Code:
int sensorPin = 4;
// Setting the input pin for the sound sensor
int ledPin = 13;
// Setting the output pin for the light emitting diode
int val = 2;
// Variable to store the value coming from the sensor

void setup() {
pinMode(ledPin, OUTPUT);
// Setting ledPin as the output
Serial.begin(9600);
// Initialising serial communication with computer
}

void loop(){
val = analogRead(sensorPin);
// Reading the analogue value from the sensor
Serial.println(val);
// Sending the signal to the computer in the form of ASCII digits

if (val > 3) {
// If the signal value received from the sensor is higher than 460
digitalWrite(ledPin, HIGH);
// Then turn the LED on
}
else {
// Otherwise
digitalWrite(ledPin, LOW);
// Turn the LED off
}
delay(30);
}


LED Cluster details:

Specifications (IF=200mA)                                 
Maximum luminous intensity:   23000mcd                              
Viewing angle:   40°                              
Typical forward voltage:   9.6V (11.2V)                              
Peak wavelength:   660nm                              
Maximum reverse current:   100µA @ VR=18V                              
Power dissipation:   2.5W max.                              
DC forward current:   250mA max.                              
Reverse voltage:   5V max.                              
Operating temperature range:   -5°C to +65°C


As I said before, this is for uni, so I am stressing a lot right now, any help is appreciated smiley
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 03:05:37 pm by cschmeer » Logged

Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2529
Now, More Than Ever
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

There's more than one way to go about this.
The attachment is but one of many.
(It features a "logic-level" MOSFET.)



* pd01poss.JPG (20.06 KB, 538x299 - viewed 26 times.)
Logged

"Hello, I must be going..."
"You gotta fight -- for your right -- to party!"
Don't react - Read.
"Who is like unto the beast? who is able to make war with him?"

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi thanks for your reply. My problem is also I don't really understand most technical schematics :/ The only thing I recognise are the resistors  smiley-red
I have a 9v battery box the cluster can run off by itself (if attached directly). Would I be able to use this as power for the Arduino, that will then power the LEDs?
Logged

Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2529
Now, More Than Ever
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi thanks for your reply. My problem is also I don't really understand most technical schematics :/ The only thing I recognise are the resistors  smiley-red
The LED cluster is represented by the diode inside the big circle, you get the resistors, so all what's left is the MOSFET.  You can do a little "googling" on that much, mate.

I have a 9v battery box the cluster can run off by itself (if attached directly). Would I be able to use this as power for the Arduino, that will then power the LEDs?
9V is not enough.  The name of the game for the LED circuit is: "12V Or Bust".  The Arduino should be OK with 12V as "V_in".
Logged

"Hello, I must be going..."
"You gotta fight -- for your right -- to party!"
Don't react - Read.
"Who is like unto the beast? who is able to make war with him?"

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is there any way of doing the same with one of the products Maplin offers? (They're open on Sundays, so I can go and buy it tomorrow.)
http://www.maplin.co.uk/search?criteria=MOSFET+op-amp
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 05:18:28 pm by cschmeer » Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 627
Posts: 34234
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Why search for op amps?
You want a logic level FET and a 12 V supply, a 9V battery pack is not sufficient.
Logged

Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2529
Now, More Than Ever
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Maplin doesn't have a lot in the way of MOSFETS, two actually.
They have an IRF540, but it will require an NPN in front of it, to switch the gate voltage (5V not enough.)

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php?action=dlattach;topic=101169.0;attach=16753;image

In that schematic, the LED cluster and those 33Ω resistors is/are the block labelled "Load".
It's "On" when the Arduino output is LOW and it's "Off" when the Arduino output is HIGH.

* * * I know that there are NPNs good with getting > 200mA and more stuffed down them, but I was thinking how 1 cluster turns into 2, turns into 4...  
Anyway, I don't know what's "ideal", but this'll get the job done.  It's not beta-dependent and V_ce isn't an issue either. * * *
« Last Edit: April 21, 2012, 09:36:12 pm by Runaway Pancake » Logged

"Hello, I must be going..."
"You gotta fight -- for your right -- to party!"
Don't react - Read.
"Who is like unto the beast? who is able to make war with him?"

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I only need that one cluster and I want to use the simplest way possible. Would that be by using the Logic Level Mosfet you described in the first post?
I have ordered one off eBay, hope it arrives soon...
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 627
Posts: 34234
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Well you could get the NPN transistor and the FET from Maplins today, it will do the same job as the logic level FET.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for helping everyone. Just to make sure are these all the things I need?

http://www.maplin.co.uk/480-piece-e3-resistor-starter-pack-42453
for one 4K7ohm resistor.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/mos-fet-transistors-33843
one IRF540A MOS-FET transistor.

http://www.maplin.co.uk/33andohm-to-91andohmmetal-film-0.6w-resistors-341561
three 33ohm resistors

As I said, I am a total newbie in electronics, still kind of clueless (see illustration of my cluelessness below) smiley-zipper  smiley-red


* clueless.jpg (73 KB, 498x512 - viewed 15 times.)
« Last Edit: April 22, 2012, 03:36:46 am by cschmeer » Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 627
Posts: 34234
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would go for a 10 ohm 10 Watt resistor in place of the three 33R resistors the catalog number is H22R
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi thanks, I have now reserved these items:

H22R - 10W W/W 22R1
N63BH - E3 Resistor Pack1 (for the 4K7 ohm resistor)
N10AH - IRF540A

Is there anything else I need? Could someone please have a look at the image I posted, I don't understand it completely. What's 2k? Another resistor? And why are there two 12v inputs? smiley-red
Again, thank you so much for helping out  smiley-eek smiley
Logged

Manchester (England England)
Online Online
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 627
Posts: 34234
Solder is electric glue
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
What's 2k? Another resistor?
Yes but you could use the 4K7 to save you getting another value.

Quote
And why are there two 12v inputs?
Just connect them to the same place.

You might want some strip board to build it on.
Logged

Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2529
Now, More Than Ever
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I would go for a 10 ohm 10 Watt resistor in place of the three 33R resistors the catalog number is H22R

The big, fat leads of those guys are hard to cram into breadboards.

cschmeer,
Are you an adept solderer?
Logged

"Hello, I must be going..."
"You gotta fight -- for your right -- to party!"
Don't react - Read.
"Who is like unto the beast? who is able to make war with him?"

Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 65
Posts: 2529
Now, More Than Ever
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I made you a pictorial - I'm in an unusually good mood this morning.
I'm an atavism, an unapologetic fossil, a techno-coelacanth who puts pen to paper and uploads a picture of same.  (I don't/won't do the "fritzing" thing).

That cluster/module has a red lead and a white lead, but I didn't see anything in their info as to which is which, so I'm going with the "red=positive" assumption.  You may want to get some guidance from the good people at Maplin (who are anxiously awaiting your call.)  smiley-grin

[I have some similar devices which have red & green LEDs. Their lead out is White (CA), Red (reds K), Green (greens K).]


* howtodoit.jpg (31.09 KB, 451x425 - viewed 23 times.)
Logged

"Hello, I must be going..."
"You gotta fight -- for your right -- to party!"
Don't react - Read.
"Who is like unto the beast? who is able to make war with him?"

Pages: [1] 2 3   Go Up
Jump to: