Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: AC Lighting with Arduino  (Read 280 times)
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey All,

I've read all the other posts about this topic...but I'm an absolute novice and understood only about half of it.

What is the EXACT setup I would need to go from Arduino to a standard AC Light Bulb? The theory I'm looking for to start in like onKeyPressed("A") then light bulb turns on.

The project I'm looking to do requires lighting (at minimum) 12 AC lights...but not at the same time. I have 7'x7' walls with a scrim stretched over it. Depending of the variables of the room, I want the walls to light up red,blue, or yellow. I would like to have them fade between color modes.

Can anyone help me with this?

Sussex UK / CT USA
Edison Member
Forums forever
View Profile

Sorry to be a bore... but having attended over a thousand emergencies as a firefighter, can I just say:

AC (mains) electricity can "bite" you hard if you make any mistakes. The "silliest" thing can have serious consequences.

===
Having said that...

In designing your project, be aware that dimming incadescant bulbs and dimming florescents (including the "green", "modern", "energy saving" "replacement" bulbs) require very different approaches.

Can you live with "on"/"off" for each bulb? At least for the first pass through your project? It will make your life a lot easier.

If you set up a socket which is turned on and off by a relay controlled by a low, Arduino friendly voltage, consider the merits of having the socket ON UNLESS the low voltage is SUPPLIED to the relay's coil. Such a device works fine as a simple extension cord (good for something, anyway!) at times when your Arudino control is either not working, or otherwise engaged.

Denver
God Member
Inactive - PM
View Profile

You might also want to consider interfacing with X10. It might cost more, but it keeps you away from the AC.
http://www.arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/X10