Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Doubt on Simple Arduino Circuit  (Read 631 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi Guys,

I'm a newbie and just got started with Arduino. I have been playing around with the book Getting Started With Arduino and felt so interesting. Though I got stumbled upon an example from that book. The circuit for the particular example is shown below.

I built this circuit and it worked perfect. Though, I was curious to know what does that resistor and the wire to ground do. So I tried removing them both and I found the circuit is working fine without those two. One behavior I observed is that, I can lit the LED by touching pin 7 with my finger, if those are not present. Can someone explain me why this is all about?

Thanks in Advance.

Austin, TX
Faraday Member
Baldengineer
View Profile

The resistor is configured as a "pull-down resistor."

Though, I was curious to know what does that resistor and the wire to ground do.
If they aren't there then what is the pin connected to when the button isn't pushed?  Nothing.  What is the digital value of nothing?  When pins are not connected to anything, they are in a "floating" state.  They actually pick up noise from the environment that will flip their value at random.

Pull-Up and Pull-Down resistors force the pin to a specific value when nothing is connected to them.

One behavior I observed is that, I can lit the LED by touching pin 7 with my finger, if those are not present.
Your body is a great antenna for this electrical noise.

Watch this videos on this page to see what it looks like when a pin is floating and when it is pulled-up (the opposite of pulled-down).
http://www.cmiyc.com/tutorials/arduino-pull-ups/

Capacitor Expert By Day, Enginerd by night.  ||  Personal Blog: www.baldengineer.com  || Electronics Tutorials for Beginners:  www.addohms.com

View Profile

Thanks a lot James.

Faraday Member
View Profile