Go Down

Topic: Board unexpectedly resetting (Read 720 times) previous topic - next topic

jestermaximus

Hello,

I'm new to arduino and programming in c++ in general but have some experience in java. I'm attempting to make a function that would parse an incoming string and place the resulting (int)'s into an array (input looks like "123,52,152," or "1,412,54," each number can be 1,2 or 3 digits... output is an int[]).

However even on the most simple testbed, every time my function is called, the board resets. It seems to output 2 of the three expected numbers correctly, but the first number always comes back as a much larger one. I've been reading about memory leaks in c++ (still don't have a real good handle on it), and thought that might be an issue (i guess i'm pretty lazy, coming form java  :)). Is that a valid concern given the limited size of my program?

Any suggestions about my ineptitude or a more efficient way of parsing this data would be greatly appreciated!

(ps. probably doesn't matter, but there is nothing connected to the board, i'm just running the program)

Code: [Select]
void setup(){
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("setup");
  delay(10);
}

//loops once every second.
void loop (){
  Serial.println("looping");
  delay(10);
  //This string is would come over a serial port.
  String output = "123,152,35,";
  parseData(output);
  delay(3000);
}

//Takes the string from the input and parses it into an int array. using ',' as a delimiter Finally prints out the vale
void parseData(String input){
  int currentBrightnessArray[] = {0,0,0};
  int returnCounter = 0;
  int currentNum = 0;

//the loop looks for the delimiter and adds each digit (currently type char) into a substring,
  //which is turned into an int. then the space in the string is set to ' ' and trimmed off.
  while(input.length() > 0){
   input.trim();
   int nextCommaPosition = input.indexOf(',');
   input.setCharAt(nextCommaPosition, ' ');
   char currentSub[nextCommaPosition-1];