Go Down

Topic: Problems with serial communication using PuTTY and Win32::SerialPort for Perl (Read 2180 times) previous topic - next topic

I've got a lot of elecrtonics and programming background, but I'm just getting started with Arduino tinkering.

I have been going crazy just trying to get Perl's Win32::SerialPort working with very trivial things, but I'll get to that in more detail in a moment.

First, the Arduino code:
Code: [Select]
static int LED = 13;
String inputString;
boolean stringComplete;

void setup() {
  inputString = "";
  stringComplete = false;
  // turn off the LED, we will use it for debug
  pinMode(LED,OUTPUT);
  digitalWrite(LED,LOW);

// start serial communication send a "ready" message
  Serial.begin(9600);
  Serial.println("Arduino ready");

}

void loop() {
  if (stringComplete) {

// echo the string received
    Serial.print("ECHO : ");
    Serial.println(inputString);

// reset the string
    inputString = "";
    stringComplete = false;

// blink the LED as a sign that we got the command
    digitalWrite(LED,HIGH);
    delay(500);
    digitalWrite(LED,LOW);
  }
}

void serialEvent() {
  while (Serial.available()) {
    // get the new byte:
    char inChar = (char)Serial.read();
    // if the incoming character is a newline, set a flag
    // so the main loop can do something about it:
    if (inChar == '\n') {
      stringComplete = true;
    }
    else {
      // add it to the inputString:
      inputString += inChar;
    }
  }
}

When I connect to the board using the built-in Serial Monitor that comes with the Arduino software, everything is great.  Every command I send causes the "TX" and "RX" LEDs to blink, and the LED attached to pin 13 also blinks as per the code.  Everything is echoed back to me as expected:
Arduino ready
ECHO : this works fine
ECHO : over and over
ECHO : every time