Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: GPS problems- can't get a fix...  (Read 595 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Seattle
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
ummm?
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

so after a bit of rewiring and poking around, I've gotten the Globalsat 406a (http://www.usglobalsat.com/store/download/46/em406a_ug.pdf)
 to talk to the Mega 2650 through an Adafruit shield http://www.adafruit.com/products/98.

It'll read properly parsed empty phrases from the module indoors, and if I take it outside, it gets a bit more data.

But the problem is, it can see 12 satellites, but can't get a fix.  Tried it at work, tried it at home, same results.
I let it chug along for at least 5 minutes, no luck.  Sees 12, no fix.  Moving it, sometimes it even loses the $GPGSV phrase.
If it was a radio, I'd change the antenna, but this one's part of the module.

Using the Adafruit code modified to read through the hardware serial port 1, I get:

Read:
$GPGGA,064518.403,,,,,0,00,,,M,0.0,M,,0000*5F
Read:
$GPGSA,A,1,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,*1E
Read:
$GPGSV,3,1,12,21,52,183,23,29,52,062,30,30,51,303,26,31,44,226,*7B
Read:
$GPGSV,3,2,12,25,33,127,,16,18,304,,05,16,051,,06,13,264,*73
Read:
$GPGSV,3,3,12,18,02,153,,23,02,313,,13,01,342,,03,-1,265,*6C
Read:
$GPRMC,064518.403,V,,,,,,,090612,,,N*48
   Time: 6:45:18
   Date: 6/9/12
   Lat: 0* 0' 0.0"
   Long: 0* 0' 0.0"

but even a simple serial1 to serial0 repeater gives the same results.


I'm GPS- clueless.  Is there something obvious I could be missing?

Thanks,

t
« Last Edit: June 09, 2012, 02:16:14 am by TobyB » Logged

Massachusetts, USA
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 180
Posts: 8108
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

On some GPS modules it can take a long time to download the ephemeris details for each satellite.  Try leaving the module running with a clear view of the sky for a while... Possibly hours.

If that fails you might need to force a cold start to clear whatever the module thanks it knows about orbits.
Logged

Send Bitcoin tips to: 1L3CTDoTgrXNA5WyF77uWqt4gUdye9mezN
Send Litecoin tips to : LVtpaq6JgJAZwvnVq3ftVeHafWkcpmuR1e

Seattle
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 25
ummm?
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks, John- I'll give that a shot. 

t
Logged

Virginia
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was just curious if things ever panned out for getting a quicker fix with your GPS.  I've started working with a Maestro A2035-H (http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Maestro-Wireless-Solutions/A2035-H-V412/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMvHnN%252b%2fGH9WnSIFmGmrzLuu2xchwU9fmI4%3d) and it is acting similarly.  After about 7 minutes it figures out the right time and date (starts off with a date from 2010).  It finally gets a fix after about 30 minutes.  Until then it just shows that it can find 12 satellites!
Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: