Go Down

Topic: LCD display coding lack of knowledge for autopilot controlls (Read 33 times) previous topic - next topic

Hello everyone, this is my first post but I have been reading a lot of posts in the last 2 weeks since receiving my first Arduino Mega.

I've tried to learn coding (from scratch), I have limited knowledge still but am working on it. I've been reading Arduino for dummies and working through the assignments.

Below is a sketch that has causing me brain ache for a number of days, hopefully you will be kind enough to help?

I'm trying to construct a program, using the LCD 5 button shield and a pot, to eventually integrate with my flight sim.

Right now I have managed to hook up a pot and program 2 buttons, one says 'Heading' and t'other 'Altitude'. I've managed to work out a division to read the pot as 360 degrees, so that's great and I had fun researching and implementing this. Eventually the other buttons will be assigned to other commands (hopefully!).

Problems are:
- When I change value for the altitude, it automatically changed the Heading value. I assume this is because the pot is shared and hence always being read?
- I then had the idea to use the Select button, to 'store' the pot value for heading whilst I moved the pot with altitude button. After much research I couldn't find anything. I don't know how to do this.
- I like when I experimented using the 'while' command, as it let me see the pot value change on screen; with the 'if' command I have to keep the button pressed to see the pot value change on the screen. Is there a workaround for this with the if command (if 'if' is the way forward)?

So, ladies and gents, do you know of a way of storing the pot value to one button only. Like an 'Enter' command.
Should I use something other than a pot?
I'm trying to clone the Saitek Pro Flight Multi Panel, which has only 1 pot (or encoder?) to control altitude, heading, Nav, climb/decent rate.