Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Smoke of death  (Read 676 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 65
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So I accidentally connected 24V to one of the analog in ports on my Arduino.
A fissure of doom opened on surface of the atmega328 and started erupting noxious fumes of death.
I have replacement chips and a programmer, and I've successfully programmed a new bootloader onto a chip.
When I hook the board up to USB the lights all turn on.
However, when I go to program the board, it doesn't show up in the Serial Port list.
Does this mean the board has become a brick?
« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 07:47:36 am by jfenwick » Logged

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 504
Posts: 19105
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I accidentally cut my Arduino into two pieces with an axe.

Does this mean the board has become a brick?
Logged


0
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
****
Karma: 132
Posts: 10502
:(){:|:&};:
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

don't worry, sparkfun sell a smoke refill kit http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10622
Logged

sei nuovo? non sai da dove partire? leggi qui: http://playground.arduino.cc/Italiano/Newbie

Canada
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 246
Code Monkey
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

don't worry, sparkfun sell a smoke refill kit http://www.sparkfun.com/products/10622

That only works the beginning of April.
Logged

I yield() for co-routines.

Dallas, Texas
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 31
Posts: 887
Old, decrepit curmugeon
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You might be able to resurrect the board by replacing the DIP style chip, but that will depend upon what other damage may have occurred to the board.
Logged

New true random number library available at: http://code.google.com/p/avr-hardware-random-number-generation/

Current version 1.0.1

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 65
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You might be able to resurrect the board by replacing the DIP style chip, but that will depend upon what other damage may have occurred to the board.

I did put a new chip in, and I even successfully programmed the bootloader using the board that got fried.
It just doesn't show up as a board that can be programmed, boooo.
I'll just assume it's a brick I guess.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
****
Karma: 132
Posts: 10502
:(){:|:&};:
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

how did you programmed the bootloader?
probably the briked chip is the FTDI/8U2 for a problem like this
Logged

sei nuovo? non sai da dove partire? leggi qui: http://playground.arduino.cc/Italiano/Newbie

Global Moderator
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 504
Posts: 19105
Lua rocks!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You may possibly be able to keep using the board by programming it via the serial pins (not the USB chip) if that is worthwhile. You would need an FTDI cable. Or, via the ICSP pins, in which case you need an external programmer. Depends how much of the board was damaged.
Logged


0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 65
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I was able to program the boot loader on the new chip through the ICSP on the Arduino using the AVR Pocket Programmer.
Would I need to upload the hex file at the command line?
If so... any idea where I could find that file when it's compiled?
I'm guessing I could use some avrdude command to do the actual uploading.
Logged

0
Offline Offline
Shannon Member
****
Karma: 132
Posts: 10502
:(){:|:&};:
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

ok, if you used ICSP then you bypassed the fried serial-to-usb chip.

you can look where your temp file are stored by pressing shift + compile in arduino ide < 1.0, and setting a checkbox in preferencies menu into newer.

command line is not enought if you don't have a replace for the chip... i dunno if AVR Pocket Programmer can do it (it shurely can uplad hex WITHOUT using bootloader)
Logged

sei nuovo? non sai da dove partire? leggi qui: http://playground.arduino.cc/Italiano/Newbie

0
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 0
Posts: 65
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks for pointing out those preferences, really useful.
I was able to program the board using the pocket programmer!
I enabled verbose output and then uploaded to a different board, changed the command to match my board and programmer, made sure to remove the -P option since I don't need it through ICSP, and it totally works.

Maybe I'll pick up a new FTDI chip and see if I can fix the board at some point.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2012, 05:24:24 pm by jfenwick » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: