Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: "Smart" Power Strip  (Read 2183 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,

I have just discovered the Arduino world, and I thought I would use it to do something I've been longing for for quite a while.

Basically it would be a "smart" power strip. Let's say 2/4 220V (I live in Italy, you know smiley-cool) sockets that con be powered on/off according to various criteria:

- Always ON
- Always OFF
- ON when the temperature goes ABOVE a certain threshold
- ON when the temperature goes BELOW a certain threshold
- ON at a certain time

The criterion will be configurable per socket, through a web interface which will also allow access to the current status. It would be an improved version of what can be seen at http://www.civade.com/post/2009/07/25/40-arduino-network-power-switch-telecommander-via-ethernet-des-equipements-basse-tension-220v-relais-28j60-domotique-heyu, as I need all of this for various things I'm doing smiley.

Thus, some questions:

  • I'm thinking about using the Arduino Ethernet, it has everything I need and is a bit cheaper than a 2009/Uno + Ethernet Shield. Any other ideas? Luigino + Ethernet shield maybe?
  • Is there any LCD shield that is compatible with the Arduino Ethernet? This would be a later addition I'd love to make, but unfortunately all of those I've seen seem to use digital I/O 10, which is reserved for the embedded Ethernet controller. The ATS-1 (http://www.unifiedmicro.com/ats1-arduino-shield.html) seems good, but it sounds very expensive to get it from the US. I know I could wire my own LCD screen, but I'm bad at soldering, and I would happily avoid that. Plus it would be nice for my project to be entirely made of readily available parts so that everyone could build it quickly.
  • As a temperature sensor, I chose the DS18B20, as it is digital, allowing me to use longer cables, plus it is already available in a waterproof version (http://www.robot-italy.com/product_info.php?products_id=2330), which is what I need. I might as well use a thermistor, but that is more complicate, requiring a parallel resistor, soldering, etc, which - again - I'd happily avoid smiley.
  • On the software side I should have no problems, as programming is my job. Just one question: do you think the flash space on the ATmega328 will be enough for my project? I fear it might be too little, since I will need to use the Ethernet, SD, and - later - LCD libraries. At least I plan to put the HTML files on the SD card.

That's all for the moment, thanks in advance for any replies!
« Last Edit: June 25, 2012, 07:59:42 am by SukkoPera » Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 108
Posts: 5152
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
I'm thinking about using the Arduino Ethernet, it has everything I need and is a bit cheaper than a 2009/Uno + Ethernet Shield.

Yes, it is, but keep in mind, that you also need some kind of USB2Serial adapter because the Arduino Ethernet does not have that on board, the UNO has.

Quote
Is there any LCD shield that is compatible with the Arduino Ethernet?

This one http://www.nuelectronics.com/estore/index.php?main_page=project_lcd seems to be, at least the schematics does not show a usage of the SPI interface of the Ethernet shield. You might have problems though to access the SD card (pin 4).

Quote
do you think the flash space on the ATmega328 will be enough for my project?

If you include only the necessary features and put the rest on the SD card, I guess you'll have enough flash for your project.
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks a lot! I had seen that screen, but unfortunately it is sold out. Do things on nuelectronics usually come back in stock?

It seems that many of the Arduino-related things I'd love to get are always out of stock! smiley-yell
Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 108
Posts: 5152
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I don't know nuelectronics.com, I just searched around for a shield that uses other pins. I don't use shields for the display but solder them to connectors which I put in the topmost shield. This way I'm free to use the pins for the display that are not used otherwise.
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I guess I will have to go that way. Fortunately, the LCD will be a later addition and by then, hopefully, I will have improved my soldering skills! smiley-cool

Thanks!
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can anybody please give me a hint about how much size does an empty sketch take, when linked to the Ethernet and SD + FAT32 libraries?
Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 108
Posts: 5152
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Almost none because only the used code parts are really linked to the target binary.
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Of course smiley. Let me rephrase that: how big are the Ethernet and SD + FAT32 libraries in the worst case?
Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 108
Posts: 5152
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Which of the SD+FAT libraries do you use? The standard one from the IDE?
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

No idea, I haven't even installed the IDE, yet. I'm still at the design phase.

Anyway, I'd use the one library you'd recommend, I guess! smiley-grin
Logged

Switzerland
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 108
Posts: 5152
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

With the version of the IDE you'll probably get about 25kB of code using most of the features.
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK, thanks!
Logged

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi again,

a preview of my project is now available at http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,120299.0.html.
Logged

Topsham, Vermont USA
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 33
Posts: 1925
... in The Woods In Vermont
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi,  I lived in Genova last year but now back in Vermont USA.

A display like this uses only 2 Arduino pins (Plus 5V and Ground):  http://goo.gl/psfWb  (4 line versions available also).

How-to for these displays is on http://arduinoinfo.info  here: http://arduino-info.wikispaces.com/LCD-Blue-I2C

If you use relays to control the outlets, look at these: http://goo.gl/rG5iT 


DISCLAIMER: Mentioned stuff from my own shop...
Logged

Regards, Terry King terry@yourduino.com  - Check great prices, devices and Arduino-related boards at http://YourDuino.com
HOW-TO: http://ArduinoInfo.Info

Piemonte, Italia
Offline Offline
Jr. Member
**
Karma: 1
Posts: 65
Just a brick in the wall
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Thanks, but I've found a suitable solution for the display meanwhile smiley. I still haven't implemented it in this project, but I have already successfully used a 2-wire connection through a shift register and the NewLiquidCrystal library. I'm even thinking of trying the one-wire solution but that will require a latching SR, which I don't have at the moment. I've much improved my soldering skills, also smiley-cool.

I also already have similar relay boards for my tests, but without the optocouplers. They were the cheapest I could find in the EU. I'd love to get yours (the 30A one in particular!) but I'm always afraid of customs duties when ordering abroad. I'm waiting for some SSR's from HK and I'm hoping they won't get hold of them smiley.

PS: Hope you liked Genova, it's quite close to where I live!
« Last Edit: August 27, 2012, 09:57:25 am by SukkoPera » Logged

Pages: [1]   Go Up
Jump to: