Go Down

Topic: Arduino, CANBus shield motor control?? (Read 759 times) previous topic - next topic

cristybbb

Hey I am new to arduino and its programming... I'm doing a project that entails communicating with the arduino through C and using a CANBus shield to control a robotic hand. My problem is that I have a pretty basic understanding of C++ language and need to be able to send messages to the hand in the format of 0x101, 0x102... which refers to the mailbox ID for each digit.

I don't know how much more info you guys would need to help me but it has a message payload of 2 words (2 x 16 bits)
the HIGH word contains the direction of the digit (0=stop, 1=close digit, 2=open digit)
and the LOW word contains the PWM level to apply to the motor to adjust speed (100-700)

My goal is to write a code that can move the hand into a certain number of positions by moving individual digits. I'm thinking of connecting the Arduino to the shield using pins 10-13 and I dont know if each pin somehow corresponds to the digits individually. Matlab has a toolbox that has simple functions to code the messages in the format that I have them in except I can find similar ones for C.  ANY help would be great!!
THANKS!!

PaulS

I'm doing a project that entails communicating with the arduino through C

Communicating from what to the Arduino? Two directional or one?

and using a CANBus shield to control a robotic hand.

Standard questions. Which shield? Which hand?

My problem is that I have a pretty basic understanding of C++ language

That's a problem?

need to be able to send messages to the hand in the format of 0x101, 0x102... which refers to the mailbox ID for each digit.

So, what's the problem?

I don't know how much more info you guys would need to help me but it has a message payload of 2 words

First thing would be knowing what "it" refers to.