Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Author Topic: how to increase more I/O pins with all individual controls  (Read 1969 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am trying to contorl more Appliances connected to in my home. My needs makes me to control the appliances single or multiple at a time.

Please help me in increasing more I/O pins.(even with many micro controller if solution needed)
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 545
Posts: 27353
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

How many, and how are they controlled?
There are many expansion options.
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
How many, and how are they controlled?
There are many expansion options.

nearly 100 appliances, controlled by android application through wishiled.


Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 545
Posts: 27353
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What is "wishiled" ?
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Chicago
Offline Offline
Full Member
***
Karma: 0
Posts: 113
Arduino rocks
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

http://asynclabs.com/store?page=shop.product_details&product_id=26&vmcchk=1
I guess it's a shield
Logged

Global Moderator
Boston area, metrowest
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 545
Posts: 27353
Author of "Arduino for Teens". Available for Design & Build services. Now with Unlimited Eagle board sizes!
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

And what are the appliances? 120V items? 240V items? How are wired now, or how will they be wired?

I have a 2000 sq ft, 2 story home I don't think we even have 50 dual plug outlets, let alone 100 appliances.
Logged

Designing & building electrical circuits for over 25 years. Check out the ATMega1284P based Bobuino and other '328P & '1284P creations & offerings at  www.crossroadsfencing.com/BobuinoRev17.
Arduino for Teens available at Amazon.com.

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
And what are the appliances? 120V items? 240V items? How are wired now, or how will they be wired?

i am connecting 240v items(fan, tubelight, blub,..etc). 

5v supply is connected in switch and apliances are connected with relay.

 so i can control both in switch board and using android mobile which will control appliances connected to the relay.

Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

hello, please help me.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 40
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

You may want to take a look at serial to parallel shift register chips. It turns 3 I/O pins into 8. They can also be cascaded, so 3 pins can become 16, 24 ,32... depending on how many chips you link together.

http://www.sparkfun.com/products/733

Basically you feed them a byte value (0-255, which is an 8 digit number in binary) and the 0s and 1s correspond to 8 pins on the chip which then become high or low. So lets say you want to turn pins 2 4 and 5 high and keep the rest low. You'll want to send it the value of 176 which is "010110000" in binary notation.

http://arduino.cc/en/Tutorial/ShiftOut
« Last Edit: July 07, 2012, 05:44:17 am by RacerX89 » Logged

Global Moderator
UK
Offline Offline
Brattain Member
*****
Karma: 309
Posts: 26487
I don't think you connected the grounds, Dave.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

How long is your wiring expected to be?
Logged

"Pete, it's a fool looks for logic in the chambers of the human heart." Ulysses Everett McGill.
Do not send technical questions via personal messaging - they will be ignored.

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 129
Posts: 8590
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Using a single master Arduino for an entire house has pros and cons but for my money the main con is wire length as I think AWOL is alluding to.

Unless it's a very small house the wires will be too long for reliable sensing and maybe even control. Also of course you need 100 wires. 

My preference would be for a network of small controllers, say one for each room. The down side is that the programming gets more complicated.

______
Rob
Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 40
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

the wires will be too long for reliable sensing and maybe even control.
______
Rob

For sensing definitely, but maybe not for control if everything is either high or low to control a relay. Nevertheless, the I/O board could never energize 100 relays on it's own. I'd certainly use general purposes npn transistors and have them trigger the relays with 12v. That way I don't think the length of wire would be an issue, so long as the gauge is reasonable.

-Tony
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

i am getting an idea to use many arduino boards. one is master arduino board and many slaves to it. master arduino should send a data to all the slave arduino boards, all at the same time slaves should recogonise that the data is sent to the particular slave to Switch ON particular appliances.

will this work effectively.
Logged

nr Bundaberg, Australia
Offline Offline
Tesla Member
***
Karma: 129
Posts: 8590
Scattered showers my arse -- Noah, 2348BC.
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
will this work effectively.
Yep.

Have a good search through the forum there's 100s of post about such things but as I said above a network of Arduinos connected with RS-485 is one way to go.

______
Rob
« Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 05:59:55 am by Graynomad » Logged

Rob Gray aka the GRAYnomad www.robgray.com

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 1
Posts: 46
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
will this work effectively.
I said above a network of Arduinos connected with RS-485 is one way to go.

i am new to networks. please help me to understand this networks and RS-485
Logged

Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Jump to: