Go Down

Topic: Ultrasonic Gap length sensor project  (Read 205 times) previous topic - next topic

joeyko10642

Hi guys, I'm currently interested in a project that detects the width between 2 objects with a ultrasonic sensor such as the HC-SR04. There said, I'm fairly new to Arduino programming. Detecting the distance seems to be fairly easy, but I'm wondering if its possible to detect the distance between 2 objects in front of the sensor?

giovanniguerra

You mean the objects side by side or one behind another or...?

aarg

You mean the objects side by side or one behind another or...?

In either case, the answer is no.
  ... with a transistor and a large sum of money to spend ...
Please don't PM me with technical questions. Post them in the forum.

Procyan

if you mean something like this

o    o

V

and you can measure the angle (~) making the V you can use trig.  Measure the distance to the target and call it the hypotenuse.  The separation would then be 2X h(sin ~)

i think
Burt Munro:

"It is not the critic who counts, not the man who points out how the strong man stumbled, or where the doer of deeds could have done better. The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena..."

OldSteve

Mar 17, 2016, 08:09 am Last Edit: Mar 17, 2016, 08:10 am by OldSteve
if you mean something like this

o    o

V

and you can measure the angle (~) making the V you can use trig.  Measure the distance to the target and call it the hypotenuse.  The separation would then be 2X h(sin ~)

i think
A HC-SR04 has a wide beam and isn't particularly directional, so there'd be no way to accurately measure the angle to a target.

As aarg said, the answer to joeyko10642's question is "no".
Please do not PM me for help. I am not a personal consultant.
And others will benefit as well if you post your question publicly on the forums.

joeyko10642

A HC-SR04 has a wide beam and isn't particularly directional, so there'd be no way to accurately measure the angle to a target.