Arduino Nano as a 4 channel Square Wave generator

Hi.

I have one Arduino Nano.
And I would like to use it to build a 4 channel signal generator.
It should have one Frequency knob for each channel - I can use Analog Inputs for them. and 10k potentiometers.
It has to output 4 independent Square waves and each of them can be sepparately controlled by a frequency knob.

I would like to take the signal from PWM compatible I/O-s if its wise to do so. (maybe it is not)

My background is poor. I have not build anything huge with Arduino. Some very simple projects O-scope, some LED blinkers, one channel signal generator and something like that.

The main reason why I am writing is to figure out if Arduino Nano can handle what I am planning and to find out if anyone has an idea how to complete it.
Frequency will stay below 22kHz but it must achieve it in all the channels.

The easiest knob input is a potentiometer connected to an analog input. That will give you 1024 steps.

You didn't specify a lower frequency limit so I'll guess it's 0 Hz.

To cover 0-22 kHz in 1024 steps you will need a step size of about 21.5 Hz. Will that be OK?

If you go with an exponential scale (14+ octaves, 173+ semitones) you can easily cover the range steps of about 1/6th semitone.

Hi. Thank you for your replay.

Do you feel that what I am trying to accomplish makes sense by using Arduino Nano? Is it fast enough.
For the O-scope I built, it was slow and didn't really work.

Controlling three frequencies is easy because the arduino has three timers. Four is difficult and you will have limited range and resolution. I have never seen a signal generator with four independent outputs why do you need that many?

served:
Do you feel that what I am trying to accomplish makes sense by using Arduino Nano? Is it fast enough.