Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: 12V Demux  (Read 1540 times)
London
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to this sort of thing; only really played around with some servos, LEDs and Pots.
What I'm looking for is either a digital pot that can output voltages between 0 and 12volts which through my searching doesn't appear to be available or
a demux which can output up to 12volts so as to fit resistors of various strengths on the different outputs to the same effect.

Does anyone who has more of a grounding in this sort of thing have any suggestions?

EDIT:
Just found this:
http://uk.farnell.com/analog-devices/ad5293bruz-20/ic-dig-pot-1024pos-20k-14tssop/dp/1827274

Would this be able to be used for this purpose?

Cheers,

Kratos
« Last Edit: July 16, 2012, 04:40:24 am by Enter_Kratos » Logged

Montreal
Faraday Member
Per aspera ad astra.
View Profile

Depends on how accurate voltage you need, better to use DAC (digital analog converter) than scale output with OPA. 8 or 12 bits available, interfacing circuitry with drawings usually printed in data-sheets.
Or you can even create one using resistors in R-2R ladder configuration.

Manchester (England England)
Brattain Member
Solder is electric glue
View Profile

Would this be able to be used for this purpose?
Yes but you have to have a 12V power supply to drive it and also give it a logic supply of 5V.
However it depends on what you want to do with the output voltage once it is output. It is a 20K pot so you are not going to be able to actually power anything from this signal.

London
View Profile

Thanks for the quick response guys.

Maybe if I explain my intended use it will make things a bit easier.