Go Down

Topic: Arduino interface with Industrial Components (updating) (Read 913 times) previous topic - next topic

autumnzhang

Jan 23, 2014, 04:30 pm Last Edit: Feb 11, 2014, 04:15 pm by autumnzhang Reason: 1
[Please see thread 3 for project update! --- currently the focus of the project is to get laptop and arduino to communicate with each other --- any recommendation for programs? Processing? TeraTerm? better suggestions?]
Hello everybody,

I want to build a pneumatic control system with Arduino processor. But I have little experience in electrical circuit, so I'm searching help on how to design the system architecture and peripheral electronics. I'll try to describe the system I want as best as I can, but I may use some not-so-precise words because I don't know better.Please help me realize my faults and ask for any more information you need. I greatly appreciate any suggestions and hints you may have to offer.

The system will have 4 pressure sensors as inputs, each giving a 4...20mA analogue output. The system need to control 3 solenoid valves and 1 electrical actuated ball valve (just on and off). The system should be powered by 24VDC battery. A very crude system schematic and the components are shown as figures below. The specification for the sensors and valves can be found in the attachment.  I hope the system can have a touch screen as user interface, so that the pressure sensor outputs will be displayed and the command to open/close valves can be sent via the screen.

I need general help on how I should approach this problem. More specifically:
1)  what Arduino board should I use?
2) how do I build a power distribution box? Can I buy one somewhere?
3) I think each valve will draw about 0.5A current, how should I build such a relay box? Can I buy one somewhere?
4) any recommendations on the touch screen and library to program the user interface?

Or anything you can think of relating to the problem...