Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Control & power a 6V/90mA pump water from Arduino only  (Read 1538 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all,

I would like to control and power a 6V/90mA pump motor from my Arduino uno without addition power source. As I am pretty new with electronic, after few readings, I came up with a combination of the op-amp + transistor as shown in the following schema:

See the file attached. I can't load the image right now.

I just want to make sure it's the right (and easiest) solution for such purpose.

Thx

* pump motor.png (6.52 KB, 430x354 - viewed 15 times.)

Seattle, WA USA
Brattain Member
Seattle, WA USA
View Profile

I would like to control and power a 6V/90mA pump motor from my Arduino uno without addition power source.
What is powering the Arduino? How long will that power supply last powering that pump?

I came up with a combination of the op-amp + transistor as shown in the following schema:
How are you planning to connect that to the Arduino?

View Profile

I just aim to switch on the motor from time to time (when the soil is too dry) for few second. Because I don't want to duplicate the power supply, I was hoping I could use the +5V of the Arduino.

Hence, to get the 6V/90m required, I would place an op-amp + transistor between Arduino and the motor. Does it make sense?

USA
God Member
View Profile

What PaulS was refering to is the supply you intend to use for the Arduino is going to determine if you can do what you want.  The on-board voltage regulator needs of at least 7.0 VDC to 7.5 VDC to output a reliable 5VDC to the Arduino's IC.  Therefore you'll need a wall-wart or battery pack with sufficient voltage, probably in the range of 7.5 VDC to 9 VDC.