Go Down

Topic: Motor driver for 4 DC 12v motors & Battery (Read 259 times) previous topic - next topic

Feb 08, 2015, 12:26 pm Last Edit: Feb 08, 2015, 12:34 pm by MaRTiDoRe
Hello everyone,

I just purchased an Arduino Mega board, and I have dome some simple experiments succesfully with some sensors and leds.

My next step is to build a movile robot for an artificial intelligence research, but things are getting a bit complex now, because of the motors.

I am a programmer specialized in Artificial Intelligence, so I have not problem at all when it comes to code stuff in any languaje, but my electronic knowledge is extremely limited. If any kind man can answer me a few questions, I would really appreciate it

I want to buy this chasis (sorry, the link is in Spanish and I cant find it in english):
http://es.aliexpress.com/item/4WD-Aluminum-Mobile-Robot-Platform-Car-chassis-Robot-Chassis-Robot-Vehicles-Heavy-Duty/2038456368.html

In the specification says it has 4 12v DC motors

RPM: 108~120 (nice because I need torque power, not speed)
Motor nominal current : 0.37A

0.34A x 4 motors = a total of 1.48A current supply for the motors to work propperly right?

For the Motor driver, I have seen this as a good option, since it can handle 4 DC motors at 12-35 V:

http://hobbycomponents.com/modules/272-4-dc-motor-drive-module

The confusion comes here;

Drive part peak current Io: 1A
Drive part continuous current: 600mA

Does that mean that this motor controller can only handle 1A at maximum, and 0.6A in average? that would be a problem because I need 1.48A so the motors have enough current (if my previous assumption is right).

I have also seen this controller:
http://www.geekonfire.com/wiki/index.php?title=Dual_H-Bridge_Motor_Driver

It specifies "Driver peak current: 2A", which would be enough, but I would need to purchase 2 of these (more wires and connections needed).