Go Down

Topic: I just have one suggestion, and something to get off my chest. (Read 116 times) previous topic - next topic

jm7501

The button in the drop-down menu in the Arduino IDE - the downward arrow menu on the right side - that says delete should not delete your entire sketch. Given that it is organized in the same subgroup as the button that says "New Tab" and "Rename," it seems particularly cruel that the Delete function deletes the full sketch.

Not that this happened to me just now or anything. Nope. Would it be possible to more accurately name this button please?

PaulS

Quote
Would it be possible to more accurately name this button please?
"Destroy my whole days work"?

Quote
The button in the drop-down menu in the Arduino IDE
Which version?

When I fire up 1.6.0, the Delete item posts a confirmation dialog that clearly says that the sketch will be history. What are you expecting to have happen when you click yes?

jm7501

1.6.0

The dialog says "Are you sure you want to delete this sketch?" when you click it and the main tab is selected. Of course in HINDSIGHT this seems obvious, but the function of the delete button on any other tab is to delete the tab. It seems like it should be disabled for the main tab, or at least in line with the function of the delete button on other tabs - delete the selected tab.

You can say all you want what I should have known, but for the life of me I can't help but think it is a poor design choice to have the delete button that clearly operates on tabs change its function and delete the whole sketch when the main tab is selected.

PaulS

Quote
but for the life of me I can't help but think it is a poor design choice to have the delete button that clearly operates on tabs change its function and delete the whole sketch when the main tab is selected.
I only had the one tab open, when I deleted the sketch. Did you have more than one open, and did it delete all the files and the folder?

Robin2


Go Up