Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Small, quiet servo recommendations  (Read 305 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I could use some recommendations for small, quiet servos, as well as a question about mounting them.

Is it okay to mount one servo directly on top of the horns of another? If so, can I use the same size servos or should the top one be smaller, and by how much? Should I reinforce the horn with a small piece of metal to provide added stiffness, or is the plastic usually sturdy enough to support the weight?

At the moment, I am looking at the following two servos in consideration:

http://www.hobbypartz.com/33p-solarservo-a107.html
http://www.hobbypartz.com/88e-micro-2-5-g-servo.html

Has anyone ever worked with HobbyPartz.com or those particular servos? Do you have other recommendations you'd make? This is my first project of this type, so I don't have loyalties to any past company or brand. I'm looking for very tiny servos (less than 2.5cm/1" for the top one, and less than 4cm/1.5" for the bottom one if it needs to be bigger), and preferably fairly cheap as well (less than $10 per servo is good, less than $5 per servo is great - I need four, and another part of the project is a real moneysink, so I'm trying to save where I can). I know most every servo makes noise of a sort, but some are louder or higher than others (I've heard digitals can whine, and high squeals bother me more than low hums - the "mosquito tone" is a valid weapon here).