Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: About Digital Servos  (Read 562 times)
Volcan, Panama
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Hi all, my name is Ivan and this is my first post on these forums. I'm a total newbie at this so bear with me a little. I have been reading about the advantages of digital servos and how they have better holding torque and such. My question here is regarding the use or the need of a programmer to get the full 180 degree rotation from a digital servo. I used the sweep sketch to move an analog servo between 0 and 180 degrees with no problems. Would this routine work for a digital servo right out of the box or do I need a programmer to make it move the full 180 degrees? Also, I've read that you can program other features of the digital servo with this programmer, like center point or deadband. Could this features be programmed using an arduino board without a programmer or do I absolutly have to buy the programmer if I want the digital servo to have all its features and ranges of motion available?

Thanks for your time,

Ivan

Arduino rocks
View Profile

RAAAWRRRRR  I'm a bear.  now you go.

you make no mention of which servo you are using and my mindreading skills are just terrible today.  bit of a headache. 

I use this servo and it has about 270deg out of the box.  http://www.servocity.com/html/spg5485a-bm_standard_rotation.html
no programming required. 

Volcan, Panama
View Profile