Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 42   Go Down
Author Topic: [MOD] Arduino Enhanced Release 1.0.5 for Windows (installer, drivers, etc) +SRC  (Read 228252 times)
0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.
Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I can reproduce the second problem, the missing error message. I think my wrapper is eating more than he should, I will check this.

For the serial garbage problem, still clueless smiley-grin if you can identify something I can replicate here, or maybe connect with you via remote desktop to debug the issues, I certainly will be able to fix those issues too!

Also I was thinking on make the precompiler to detect "Serial.begin(number)" to set the monitor speed, it seems very dumb to set manually the speed everytime after you get garbage, or even maybe autodetect the bauds speed. First alternative seems easier, but limited (i.e. if you use #define PORTSPEED... or a variable in the begin)
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 6
Posts: 427
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is the serial monitor "built-in" or could it be an external program?

The idea would be to have an option to start an external program like HyperTerminal or putty when the IDE serial monitor is selected.

I think this is a good idea, because you have more options to clear the screen etc in a "proper" terminal program.
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Is the serial monitor "built-in" or could it be an external program?

The idea would be to have an option to start an external program like HyperTerminal or putty when the IDE serial monitor is selected.

I think this is a good idea, because you have more options to clear the screen etc in a "proper" terminal program.

The problem is what happens if the serial port is opened in the other app, should the IDE also terminate the other process? or control it via DDE (if possible), so at the end it is just what it seems: a fully external app
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 6
Posts: 427
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What happens is the IDE tells you that the com port is already in use and asks you if you want to terminate the other App. smiley
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What happens is the IDE tells you that the com port is already in use and asks you if you want to terminate the other App. smiley

Yeah, it is doable but it breaks a lot of things :/ I will have to add options how to define the arguments for the new app (maybe in the preferences) putty.exe /open:xxx, and rewrite my wrapper to detect if the port is opened by another app (maybe scanning processes/recurses) instead of disabling the device and re-enabling it (for failure scenarios) so it is certainly doable, but I don't see really the improvement vs opening the third party serial monitor as a separated app. (Conclusion: Maybe for a future improvement)

Some things I am working on now:
-Performance of the IDE, I upgraded the JDK to last one, this allowed me to change the hack for the blurry icon with a clean function. Also I upgraded the arduino.exe file with the last launcher4j  smiley-cool

-Setup size is now even smaller! 35 MB due the new JDK (you can compare this to  the >160 mb zip of the prerelease IDE for the Due)

I will try to fix the wrapper problem with the errors now.
« Last Edit: October 25, 2012, 09:29:39 pm by eried » Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Update 2012/10/26

* 1.0.1i 20121026: Java JDK updated to last version. Launcher compiled with last launch4j. Pretty icon for Windows 7 now uses a cleaner approach (no jdk hacks). AvrDudeWrapper now redirects output and error messages properly to the IDE.

So this means, anyone can use now avrdude.exe (wrapper) exactly as it was avrdude2.exe in any application. smiley

I think application is very mature right now, I will have to start porting the changes to the new IDE instead of updating this 1.0.1 version.
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 6
Posts: 427
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you include an option to reset when the Serial monitor is started?

The original IDE does this and so does Hyperterminal (I don`t know how Hyperterminal does it, but I always see the first Serial.prints when Hyperterminal is started).

Thanks.
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Can you include an option to reset when the Serial monitor is started?

The original IDE does this and so does Hyperterminal (I don`t know how Hyperterminal does it, but I always see the first Serial.prints when Hyperterminal is started).

Thanks.

Maybe if you left autoclear checked I can clear the serial monitor too on every opening?
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 6
Posts: 427
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Autoclear checkbox restarts the arduino?, sure that`ll work for me. smiley
Logged

Warsaw, Poland
Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 7
Arduino Lover.
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am giving up this version of IDE. I was very excited to have something which is fixing most annoying errors of the original IDE. Downloaded installed and started the first project with dallas thermometers. After very painfull debugging I couldn't even compile the sketch.

I was getting errors which gave completely no clue where the problem is. After several attempts I have landed with a bunch of errors like "variable or field declared void" - for all functions in the example project and gave up.

There must be some changes in the compiler or something which is rendering example projects from OneWire.h and DallasTemperature unusable. I don't know what with other sketches but after opening this in original IDE problems disapeared.
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

I am giving up this version of IDE. I was very excited to have something which is fixing most annoying errors of the original IDE. Downloaded installed and started the first project with dallas thermometers. After very painfull debugging I couldn't even compile the sketch.

I was getting errors which gave completely no clue where the problem is. After several attempts I have landed with a bunch of errors like "variable or field declared void" - for all functions in the example project and gave up.

There must be some changes in the compiler or something which is rendering example projects from OneWire.h and DallasTemperature unusable. I don't know what with other sketches but after opening this in original IDE problems disapeared.

Original IDE = which version? 0023? or 1.0.1

I am sorry if you are having problems, but there is no much differences in the core of this one vs the official. For the other side, I can listen and fix the issues if there is a way to replicate them.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 03:02:44 pm by eried » Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Bad news....Installed the latest build of ide 1.0.1i_20121026 this morning.  Now nothing will compile.  One example problem...Sketches with time library no longer compile.  Compile error is that time_t is not a valid type.  Also can't find all the type declarations and functions in Webduino.  Doesn't appear to be finding and/or linking the libraries correctly.  Also, compiler fails to find all functions that are defined after they are first called in sketches.  Very long lists of errors.  I uninstalled and reinstalled 1.0.1i and it still fails to compile.  The official 1.0.1 still compiles and runs these correctly.  Your version 1.0.1g_? also compiles and runs correctly.

The last version that was working for me was either 1.0.1i_20121019 or 1.0.1i_20121019.  Can't remember exactly which one it was.

Do you have a repository of past versions.  I'd like to load one of the previous builds of 1.0.1i and use that.
Found the old setup files.  Am back-revving to 20121023 and 20121020 versions.  Will let you know how they work.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 08:02:09 pm by Quarencia » Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK.
1.0.1i_20121023 failed to compile sketches correctly with same errors in previous post.
1.0.1i_20121020 compiled everything sucessfully with no errors.

Your change log shows that you fixed the compiler line number error between these two revs.  How could that cause these errors?

Oh, and I'm not ready to give up on your ide just yet.  Way too many cool features.
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

OK.
1.0.1i_20121023 failed to compile sketches correctly with same errors in previous post.
1.0.1i_20121020 compiled everything sucessfully with no errors.

Your change log shows that you fixed the compiler line number error between these two revs.  How could that cause these errors?

Oh, and I'm not ready to give up on your ide just yet.  Way too many cool features.

Wow, weird. Can you send me the broken sketches? I always test some of the samples in my machine and in a virtual one

The problem with the lines was in the preprocessor, I removed stuff but maybe I break something. I tried with a lot of my sketches, and all of them are compiling. I need some hints  smiley-roll-blue
« Last Edit: October 26, 2012, 08:38:47 pm by eried » Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 18
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just sent a sketch and libraries to the e-mail in your profile.
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 12 13 [14] 15 16 ... 42   Go Up
Jump to: