Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21 22 ... 42   Go Down
Author Topic: [MOD] Arduino Enhanced Release 1.0.5 for Windows (installer, drivers, etc) +SRC  (Read 228131 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Gosport, UK
Offline Offline
Faraday Member
**
Karma: 21
Posts: 3113
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Quote
Still just use the #include <mylib.h>, and the build will find them?

It should do. Always has for me.
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

What dxw00d says is correct, in fact the library manager in my mod uses the user sketch directory to install libraries smiley-grin when you click "Add.."
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 524
carpe diem
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The change to "wiring" added in 1.0.2 to address an upload issue, see here for details: https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/commit/d83543cff15d8a1f4623b1e2babc6c2f4a867815
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 13
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The problem is wiring isn't defined properly. It's not in the list of programmers. So it may have been done to fix a timing error, but introduced a bug with 100% failure rate. The stk500v2 simply works. When programmers.txt gets updated to define wiring, I'm sure it will fix everything. But until then, this is the only way to get it to work.
Logged

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 524
carpe diem
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The 1.0.2 that I downloaded from Arduino is using avrdude 5.11 and supports "wiring"
Logged

Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 32
Posts: 828
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

The problem is wiring isn't defined properly. It's not in the list of programmers. So it may have been done to fix a timing error, but introduced a bug with 100% failure rate. The stk500v2 simply works. When programmers.txt gets updated to define wiring, I'm sure it will fix everything. But until then, this is the only way to get it to work.

The problem isn't in programmers.txt. The definition for the "wiring" protocol is in avrdude, specifically avrdude.exe and avrdude.conf. Only versions of avrdude 5.11 or later seem to know about "wiring", though.

The problem is that the version of avrdude shipped in this ERW 1.0.2 distro is only 5.10. For maximum compatibility, it should probably be using the same version as the one that shipped with the "official" 1.0.2, which is 5.11.

I just replaced the 5.10 version with the 5.12 version I had installed separately as a stand-alone version. Being a later version it understood the "wiring" parameter specified in programmers.txt. That worked (just remember to rename the newer avrdude.exe to replace avrdude2.exe to fit in with the "wrapper" scheme in ERW 1.0.2.)

Your solution of editing programmers.txt so it specifies "stk500v2" instead of "wiring" will work (well, work as well as it always has in the past), but has the disadvantage that you don't get the timing bug fix that the move to "wiring" was addressing. If that bug doesn't affect you, however, it's no big deal, of course.
  
« Last Edit: December 08, 2012, 11:09:06 pm by pico » Logged

WiFi shields/Yun too expensive? Embeddedcoolness.com is now selling the RFXduino nRF24L01+ <-> TCP/IP Linux gateway: Simpler, more affordable, and even more powerful wireless Internet connectivity for *all* your Arduino projects! (nRF24L01+ shield and dev board kits available too.)

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Wow! official 1.0.2 has an updated toolkit?! I noticed that recently just by the last messages! sorry I was not aware :/

I though pico manually updated the avrdude
« Last Edit: December 09, 2012, 01:03:55 am by eried » Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 524
carpe diem
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Actually, avrdude 5.11 was released with Arduino 1.0
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

So... I am a bit confused with the versioning, I remember the 1.0 with an old winavr toolkit. What should I do? I want to update that and pack a version without java too.
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Updated to 1.0.3

* 1.0.3 20121213: Fully updated to official 1.0.3 version (but keeping all the awesomeness, new JDK, new WinAVR/avrdude, etc). Changed the protocol of the mega2560 to avoid some issues with the updated avrdude. Added a light version without Java.

About WinAVR version, etc. I am not sure about avrdude 5.11 version yet, I only found ancient 2008 files in the Official package so I kept my updated ones. Maybe is the conf file?
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Offline Offline
Sr. Member
****
Karma: 4
Posts: 327
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

well done
Logged

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 524
carpe diem
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Avrdude 5.11:
http://savannah.nongnu.org/projects/avrdude
Logged

Chile
Offline Offline
Edison Member
*
Karma: 35
Posts: 1251
Arduino rocks?
View Profile
WWW
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset


yes, I know but what I don't understand is how is the 1.0 contains something updated if there is only ancient winavr stuff inside. Maybe I am confused with the relation with avrdude-winavr, I got the last package of winavr and tweaked the IDE to make it work. I can't find a newer version and for me winavr includes avrdude. So I left the previous files since in the last official package the 'tools' files are 2008-2009
Logged

My website: http://ried.cl

Austin, TX
Offline Offline
God Member
*****
Karma: 12
Posts: 524
carpe diem
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

See this commit:
https://github.com/arduino/Arduino/commit/85bf4252f0bfaf7fb86111c2104eb089c3a67496

They updated avr_tools.zip with the 5.11 version of avrdude.
Logged

Offline Offline
Newbie
*
Karma: 0
Posts: 2
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

http://arduino.cc/forum/index.php/topic,118440.0.html hi, I defaulted English in my modded version, maybe It can fix your issue

Hi,

Thank you very much for sending me the new Arduino ERW 1.0.3.  It works fine with no mixed menu language pull down.  I am a newbie in Arduino.  Once again, thank you.

Best regards,
KW
Logged

Pages: 1 ... 18 19 [20] 21 22 ... 42   Go Up
Jump to: