Pages: [1]   Go Down
Author Topic: Ultrasonic Parking Sensor Help  (Read 2010 times)
View Profile
 Bigger Bigger  Smaller Smaller  Reset Reset

Just got an ultrasonic automotive style parking sensor in the mail that I'm trying to program via my Arduino UNO R3 but I'm having troubles getting steady readings off of it.  Here's the specs on the sensor:

• Center frequency (KHz): 40±1.0KHz
  • Echo Sensitivity: ≥200mV
  • Decay Time: ≤1.2ms
  • Directivity (deg ) X-axis: 60±15
  • Directivity (deg ) Y-axis: 60±15
  • Capacitance ( pF ): 2000±15%
  • Allowable Maximum Input Voltage ( Vp-p): 140 (40KHz) Pulse width 0.5ms, interval 20ms

I'm a mechanical Engineer who's very new to Arduino and programming in general so can anyone help me with setting this bad boy up and running so I can start getting some good numbers in the Serial Monitor?  My current output only seems marginally affected by obstacles.  The output is always around 600-800.

Here's my code thus far:

Code:
int val = 0;

void setup() {

Serial.begin(9600);

}

void loop() {

val = analogRead(0);

Serial.println(val);

delay(1000);

}

Shannon Member
Arduino rocks
View Profile

Where is the link to the datasheet?

From those spec's it sounds like a bare transducer - that won't do anything very useful.

For ultrasonic ranging you need to fire a high power pulse of 40kHz (at perhaps 30 to 50V using a tuned step-up transformer) through the transducer to create a "ping".  You then disconnect the drive electronics and attach a sensitive analog amplifier to listen for the returning echoes.  The delay from send to receive gives the distance.

So unless the device comes with a transmitter and receiver electronics it isn't going to do what you think I'm afraid.

[ I won't respond to messages, use the forum please ]

View Profile

From those spec's it sounds like a bare transducer - that won't do anything very useful.